Commonly Used Ilocano Adjectives

in #blog6 years ago

A continuation of one of the topics I covered in my article Ilocano Adjectives, Nouns And Ilocano Sentence Expansion here on Steemit.

Ilocano is one of the most spoken languages in the Philippines with speakers mainly in Luzon, looking at a map, it is located in the archipelago's northern region.
Luzon-Island-on-map-of-Philippines.jpg
Luzon in the map Photo credit Worldeasyguides

Being an Ilocano speaker and a learner myself, since I am not 100% fluent in Ilocano, and with a limited source result in the language with search engines, I decided to continue Ilocano bite-sized lessons on YouTube. In addition to that, I have recently started writing about Ilocano as well to be able to share what I know. I have recently written two articles covering Ilocano verbs, pronouns, constructing simple Ilocano sentences with easy to follow conjugation of Ilocano verb tenses, nouns and adjectives. Mentioning earlier that this continuation in Steemit is in regard of one of the topic I've covered, that topic is Ilocano adjectives. As I have a feeling I would probably have a luck here on Steemit with some of search engine traffic.

Learning adjectives specially the commonly used Ilocano adjectives is important as it is something you'll hear being used in day to day basis. It's learning and knowing one of the basics of the language. Knowing some of these will help you carry out simple conversations, as well as practicing what you already know. So what are the most commonly used Ilocano adjectives that you'll most likely hear? You need to know these as well. I would be including their Tagalog counterparts as well for Tagalog speakers.

ILOCANO ADJECTIVES
Ilocano: napudot
Tagalog: mainit
English: hot

Ilocano: nasam-it
Tagalog: matamis
English: sweet

Ilocano: nalam-ek
Tagalog: malamig
English: cold

Ilocano: nasayaat
Tagalog: maayos
English: fine/good

Ilocano: mabuteng
Tagalog: takot
English: scared

Ilocano: nalaing
Tagalog: magaling/matalino
English: smart/intelligent/brilliant

Ilocano: nalukmeg
Tagalog: mataba
English: overweight

Ilocano: nakuttong
Tagalog: payat
English: skinny

Ilocano: nabartek
Tagalog: lasing
English: drunk

Ilocano: naimas
Tagalog: masarap
English: delicious/good

Ilocano: nabannog
Tagalog: pagod
English: tired

Ilocano: bassit
Tagalog: maliit
English: small

Ilocano: naalas
Tagalog: pangit
English: ugly

Ilocano: naalsem
Tagalog: maasim
English: sour

Ilocano: mabain
Tagalog: mahiyain
English: shy/bashful

These 15 are examples of Ilocano adjectives that are commonly used. More can be found on my latest article Ilocano Adjectives, Nouns And Ilocano Sentence Expansion where it also covers how to use these Ilocano adjectives in describing nouns.

@happyfree
Posted June 29, 2018 @ 6:23 pm

My YouTube Channel
My Facebook Page
Ilocano Verbs, Pronouns And Constructing Ilocano Sentences
Ilocano Adjectives And Nouns

Sort:  

I have Ilokana blood but I dont know how to speak the dialect fluently. This is a very helpful tutorial, keep it up! ☺

Thank you @chinitacharmer. 🙂 Yes, I've been thinking of doing that more here on Steemit as I don't have to meet specific word counts and stuffs. I still have words to learn myself as I am not as fluent.

I am 1/4 filipino .. raised up in filipino culture and yes living here at the north.. and i can say i can speak ilokano language .. not so deep ..its ok as long as i can communicate with people around me..

That is true @catietan. 🙂 It's always been nice to be able to communicate with other speakers without being 100% fluent. I can relate to it.

Thank you for posting..

Do not forget my country friends yes hehehe

Of course. 🙂 This post though is language lesson. One of the languages/dialects spoken in the Philippines aside from the national language. So the post has to focus on that. But you can maybe blog about your language too, and give lessons. That would be wonderful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92