TODAY

in #blog6 years ago

Today was supposed to go well for me. After my calculations yesterday, I thought today would be a stress free day.

We had ward rounds yesterday and there were very few patients that were booked for surgery. So I left my room this morning having in mind that I'll close early today.

Today started with morning review. For some weird reasons I arrived late but no big deal cause I was allowed in. The morning review usually starts by 8am and ends by 9am. Today's morning review took a lot of time owing to the fact that a lot of patients were admitted during the call period. It ended by 9:26 am.

Screenshot_20181004-135913.jpg

After the morning review we went straight to the theatre. We scrubbed and got ready. Only for me to look at the theatre board and saw that we had six surgeries 🙆. No way, this can't be true. I was so sad. Before we even started I was already too tired. The good thing is we have more than one operating room and the patients were divided.

We entered the first operating and the surgeon was carrying out a cesarean section and bilateral tubal ligation. The indication for the surgery was three previous cesarean sections and complete family size. While we were there, the registrar assisting in the surgery kept asking us questions like; what is cesarean section? What are the absolute and relative indications for cesarean section? Complications of cesarean section? Types of tubal ligations. The session was really educative and I'm actually glad I participated.

We went on and till we finished with the third patient. At some point I felt like I was going to faint so immediately I walked out if the operating into the changing room. I rested there for a while then went back.

When I got back you needed to see the looks on our faces, it wasn't funny. The surgeon understood what we had gone through and then asked "are you guys tired?" "Would you like to go home?". We all chorused YES without hesitating. I just praying all the surgeons would be like him.

I enjoyed today.

Sort:  

Good luck with your studies. I work with residents too. Some doctors are nice and everyone knows who the mean ones are. Hopefully you don't have them or not too many.

Thanks... Working with nice doctors is just interesting. Sometimes you spend so much time in the hospital and you wouldn't even feel it.

It’s nice working with the nice doctors , but after a busy I’m always exhausted no matter what.
I’ve learned to not take the doctors personally. There was this one doctor who made me cry . I was wailing in the OR. After that though I got tough and now he can’t say anything to make me that mad. I literally laugh at his meanness as I know it’s his way to control the situation and get his job done fast.

I've also had a similar experience. And sometimes when they turn out to be really mean I just ignore them.

When you become a doctor don't be a mean one.

I promise I won't

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45