How to Deal with Steemit Price-Induced Nausea

in #blog7 years ago

hansikhouse_nausea.jpg

1st World Problems


Well hell. Would you look at that price. I’m not even quite sure how to express my reaction to seeing Steem go from sub-dollar to over 8 in a few months. It’s back to hovering at 6-7 but we all know this is a prelude to bigger movement in the future. We’ve seen an uptick in posts, uptick in signups, and an uptick in daily engagement. Overall, the ecosystem of Steem is experiencing its first real engine revving since last late-spring.

And if you were like me, you’ve been getting a lot less sleep from a mixture of anticipation and disbelief. I for one am feeling daily nausea for the first time in my life. I lose my appetite and get a bit dizzy, constantly trying to understand what the hell will happen in these next few months/years of my life.

Screen Shot 2018-01-06 at 7.11.50 PM.png

I’ve tried a couple new things to combat this strange optimistic angst. I’ve started some periodic deep breathing exercises and even started doing weekly yoga with my wife. It’s important to keep a straight head on our shoulders during these wild rides. I’m still experimenting with how to deal with this sense of vertigo but here are some of the basic ones that I thought I would share and be of use to anyone who can find some kernel of value out of the simple list -

Take a Break from the Screen


Especially in these winter months (unless you’re liv’n it up in Bali after the Steem boom) with dry weather, it’s important to step away from the computer as much as you can. There is an infinite amount of things to do on Steemit - posting, commenting, upvoting, flagging, browsing, muting, etc. - and that indefinite amount of options keeps the eyes wide and dry.

Computer users on average blink only 10-20% of the amount they would doing normal non-digital activities, causing much more dryness and irritation. Moisture is an eye’s best friend and it’s vital to take breaks often - a recommended few minutes after each 20 minutes - before your eyes get stuck to the screen.

There are a few subtle tricks to naturally induce more blinking. This includes using overall dimmer screens and using applications like Flux to warm the screen with softer colors over the course of the day. The type of light coming into your room or work space are also impactful and is generally suggested to have ambient light at about 50% that of a fully-lit office with harsh natural light and glare eliminated.

For more tips on eye health, check out the link here.

Make Reasons to Step Away


Everything on moderation. Just as with any hobby or vice, it’s healthy to take some time away. Nurturing other interests and practices will encourage you to not spend so much time sucked into the platform and checking Coinmarketcap every few moments. In fact, I highly recommend focusing on other hobbies and activities as a way to keep the creative juices flowing for future posts.

I end up forcing myself out the door at least each weekend to do some city roaming and catching up with other interests. I’ve tried to focus on non-tv or computer oriented hobbies, even picking up my older hobby of Magic the Gathering that has recently fallen out of favor. I’m curious what everyone else does on their free time!

Keep Steeming!


On second (or third?) thought, maybe it’s just best to keep going as long as we can! Who knows what Steem has in store for us and maybe the next few months might be less exciting than recent weeks. So you know what? Just keep going! Post like madmen and madwomen!

Screen Shot 2018-01-06 at 7.15.55 PM.png

The Turbulence Continues


We’re all going to have to grow thicker skin and stronger stomachs in the weeks and months to come. Over $8, under $6, moonshots and big cash-outs - we’re in for much more dynamic action than we saw most of early last year and in the late summer/fall. But we all have faith that we’ll get to the desired destination without too many barf-bags.

Let me know if you have any other tactics of what you do to keep the over-excitement at a balanced level. As always, throw me your comments below!

Sort:  

I can relate brother, I have been in front of a screen for so long the past couple years since stumbling upon Bitcoin and other blockchains. I am taking some time away now for these first 2 months of 2018 to relax and meditate on things in my life and investments. I am taking this time to prepare myself to take Steem to the next level over the next 24 months. I have several ideas already for how I can contribute to this eco system. Im back in the gym and eating healthier..By 2020 Steem will be an even more powerful force/tool to help shape our world for the better. As Steemians we must become the best versions of ourselves first so we can then help others and show them the way. There are applications for this technology we have not fully realized yet and we are moving into very exciting times.

Right on @thejohalfiles! And it's awesome to see impactful curators like yourself thinking 2, 3 years in advance to help drive the community. We're all in this marathon together and we all need a bit of R+R to keep us fueled. I'll see at you at the finish line! =)

I'm here 20 days. But I am active for at least 12 hours during the day. I try to get as much information as I can, and I will start investing in the amounts I can earn. Because in the near future my university is going to finish. And I'll start a life. Now I have to have the right ideas and start investing. And I need conscious people like you on this road. I need your support for your ideas. I'm confused now. BTC, ETH, RIPPLE .... And of course STEEM ... I am very happy to discover this site. I found this and I felt sorry for the time I spent in other social media. There is a lot of information sharing here. There is no less than other social media, there is a surplus. First of all, STEEMIT values ​​its users very much. He always shows it. I hope this is my student life. I gain information and gain. I will follow you too. You do not have your own, but I look forward to being impatient. I hope you will see this message ... Good, happy and lucky day master. @thejohalfiles

The cold and snowy winter definitely makes it more of a struggle to drag myself away from the screen, but, I've been able to find some moderation in venturing out for some short walks to new places with my camera. It's been serving a double purpose - getting me out of the house and creating new content (or at least getting some inspiration for new content) for Steemit and our website.

I think that's exactly how we should be all multitasking with our hobbies and passions. Thanks for the tip @coddiwomple!

Buckle up, it's sure to be quite a ride! On that note, I might take a break ;)

This is how our brain and the adrenaline seems to be moving us. So cool to warn Steemians about this. Is a fact, that one way to improve our excellence in making good work for the platform needs a mind rest everyday.

Yep.. everyday.

For many can be a waste of time, but is like a Zip, sometimes must be down a little to up as it shoulds.

And when I say a Zip i don't mean a Zip file... if someone thought in that Zip or Rar first, please, take a breath NOW! ;)

Peace V!

Lolz you totally got me here... My first thought was the zip file... I guess I truly need a break after all.

thanks for guidance and sharing your neat idea.you are legend to me

yeah that is true steemit is now become my addiction.I always stick to my laptop.Just try to post something good and read many articles without giving a rest to my eyes,It is a bad habit I know but thanks for the suggestion @hansikhouse .I will try to follow.Upvoted follow and resteemed.Nice informative post.

It does become an addiction that we rely on. Thanks for the comment @danishali22786!

Good post!But agree, we need to rest from the monitor, meet with friends and relax!;)

Good point! I’m new here and getting addicted. I can only imagine you with so much engagement on your posts. Well... yoga & meditation is always a good option 🙏🏻

Definitely, it's a priority to keep the mind and anxiety balanced @naturald.

Very Educative. Did wish to be reading similar post from you. Thank you for sharing. Nice piece

Thanks for reading @fidelmboro!

This is a nice post.
Thanks for sharing.
Will read again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44