Remembering how I helped some people in a car crash

in #blog7 years ago

The first thing I want to say is that I'm not writing about this life event of mine to get any special attention or to be called a hero. I don't see myself as one but as someone who just did what needed to be done for someone who couldn't have done it for themselves at the time, given their situation.

It all happened the night of January 8 2012. It was in the middle of winter and there was close to a foot of snow on the ground and the roads were iced over and slick. Which makes it not very fun to drive on at night. I happened to be riding with a friend of mine that night when he saw a car go off the road and roll a couple times in his rear view mirror. He asked me about stopping and helping them out and I said that we might as well. After all we might be the only ones that knows they were in trouble and who knows if anybody would know if they were there at all. They were in an area where there wasn't alot of people going by there and they would have to walk for some distance before they could even start to get help. It happened at night and was well below freezing.

When we got to where we last saw them, the car had rolled over and was on its side, When I saw the car my first thought was, I was sure someone would have to be unconscious and that I was going to be pulling someone out and my buddy thought someone was most likely dead. While my friend was calling for an ambulance, I climbed over a barbed wire fence, and went to check on whoever was in the car. As I approached the car I went around the side that was the bottom of the car to look and smell for fuel leaks. Luckily there wasn't, so I didn't see any need to worry about fuel catching on fire right away. As I was doing a quick assessment of a possible fuel problem, one guy had pulled himself out, and one other lady was getting up from crawling out from the back window that was busted out. By then I looked in through the driver side window and saw that there was a third person still inside laying there and she wasn't getting up. I reached inside to see if she was conscious or not and when I touched her I asked her if she was with me she asked for help to get out. I then asked her if she could still move, and at the same time I was also looking to see if there was any major injury that would prevent me from moving her if I was able to move her at all. By now she was upset and starting to panic. I told her she will be ok and I am there to help her out. I had started to pull on the windshield and doing what I could to give me enough of a space to get inside and get her out. While I was looking for a way to get her out, I had looked over and saw she was getting up on her own and climbing out the broken window of the door. So all I had to do was help her climb out of the car and caught her when she climbed down from the car.

After my buddy got off the phone with the dispatch operator for the ambulance he helped me check out the first lady that crawled out on her own for any bleeding that would need to be taken care of right away. I looked over the other two for the same reason and the guy had a good amount of blood on his face. I looked him over to see where he was bleeding from and he had himself a good deep cut on his forehead just above the hairline. I told him he will be needing some stitches for that when the ambulance gets there. The girl I helped out had only a few small and minor cuts from what I could see and wasn't bleeding so much to need special attention for it.I also asked them if there was anything that felt out of place or broken. They said that they didn't feel anything broken or out of place. When the ambulance got there they all got in I told the medics what I found with the guy needing stitches and to have a better look at them for internal bleeding or whatever I might have missed. After a few minutes they were taken to the hospital for whatever reason. After they had left I took a closer look at the car and if they went off the road a few feet later they would have been wrapped around an electrical pole and someone would have died for sure.

Since then I never found out who they were or how extensive their injuries were. I just had hope they were OK.

Sort:  

great post gunner12guage! keep it up! and thanks again for following!

you are a good man. keep it up

I appreciate it, thanks.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gunner12guage to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51