2018-05-06: Addition by Subtraction

in #blog6 years ago

Shallow Thoughts

Last weekend I bought some sausages from a local butcher, and I ALWAYS have beer with sausages. They're really just made for each other. It was just one beer, but the following morning I felt a half-step slower than I had during the previous 3 weeks of sobriety. Needless to say, I won't be partaking again for the foreseeable future. There's a bit too much at stake in my life to even be missing ANY of my (limited) mental faculties at any given time.

My wife recommended today that I up the ante and remove sugar as well. After I cut the alcohol, the brownies and ice cream started creeping in a bit more. Since my younger daughter is recovering from a tonsillectomy there are plenty of sweets in the house, and they're tough for me to resist. But I took her advice and abstained today, and I'll continue taking her advice for the duration of the kettlebell training program she's on. It's the least I can do, we'll see if I notice any further addition by subtraction.

Deep Cracks

Today was another home improvement Sunday. First I tackled an empty concrete expansion joint in my driveway:

expansion_joint.jpg

I followed the bill of materials and instructions from this youtube video, and the results were spectacular. I'll post an after picture once everything has dried, but the key is definitely applying sand to the self-leveling caulk before it dries so that you can avoid the bubble gum look.

Deep Barrels

I also re-located the rain barrel next to a downspout that floods my yard and is conveniently located next to our herb garden:

rain_barrel.jpg

Now I just need to find 30 free minutes to hook the damn thing up before next Sunday's rain!

Deep Thoughts

I work in sales, which requires the ability to gently stretch the truth at times - I don't like it, but sometimes I have to tell a client that X exists, when in reality there is a 75% chance that X will exist within a 3-6 month timeframe. I used to feel bad about it, but then I realized something. . . that "lies" that I tell someone are nowhere near as damaging as the lies they tell themselves.

I'm happy with this job. . .
I'm in love with this person. . .
One more drink/hit won't hurt. . .
There's always tomorrow. . .
It'll all work itself out. . .

I will always strive to be honest with others, but first I'll make sure I'm honest with myself :)

Bonus Thoughts

Dogs can sense pain in others, even when it's being managed and/or suppressed, and they do whatever they can to comfort those who suffer:

joy_pain.jpg

Daily Stats

Cash: 12.7%
Core: 79.8%
Explore: 7.5%
Workout: None
Alcohol: None
Sugar: None
Sleep: 12:15am to 7:50am, broken at 5:50 to administer ibuprofen to Thing 2

801|53

Sort:  

I see that you used your Sunday to make the small repairs that were needed in your home !! I love that you take advantage of your time and all things to the fullest! the relocated channel is perfect for your garden! I recently made a trip and found some very interesting plants of the place. regards
in good time that your daughter keeps recovering!

the puppy makes good company

Good trainings, I am glad that your daughter recovers, the temptation to eat sweets until death is difficult I say it from experience. Your dog is seen with a tranquility that I envy sometimes as being one necessary for rest, beer and meat, the son like bread and butter. The lies are not bad nor do you meet the objectives. I hope you fulfill your goal, greetings and blessings my friend.

A very interesting post to read. I am very glad to see you re-write here. What you write has always been a science for others. Hopefully you and his beloved daughter are always healthy and happy wherever located. Good luck always for you @grolelo.

After the excesses, returning to healthy life is not an option, it is an obligation. I love the peace of your puppy next to the girl. Blessings for all🍃💫

Hopefully you are always healthy with your family, I am happy when you write about the health of your child who has recovered from tonsil diseases, interesting postings to read by telling your situation and the family there, success is always for you @grolelo😊

Good to see her making quick recovery from the surgery....

they do whatever they can to comfort those who suffer

Actually sometimes our pets understand us more than ourselves...! :)
Stay blessed, man..!

~ Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

I've wondered where you've been :) Now I see with your daughters especially, there's been lots going on! The yard looks great, and if you're anything like me, you might wait to see how the rain barrel fairs as is in the next rain storm ;)

So, absolutely no alcohol and now sugar as well! Good for you...I know how difficult that is. I was on a food elimination diet once trying to figure out the source of some issues so I went vegan and gave up alcohol, sugar, coffee, any white carb, processed food all of it! I had the most wicked headache for a week, but then felt absolutely amazing. I have since been able to return most things back into my diet, and drooling over those ribeyes from your last post reassures me that I made the right decision about meat, but I do try to stay clear of sugar still. Being 'retired' in Mexico, and living day by day with Brian, we both refuse to give up alcohol, but truthfully, we never over-indulge. He always says there's so much he is unable to enjoy in life anymore, the last thing he's going to do is willfully give up something he enjoys. I can't say that I blame him!

So sorry about your daughter's sleep apnea too. Hopefully the removal of her tonsils helps with that some. I love the dog there with her. They really are amazing creatures. My old dog used to alert me whenever Brian was going to have a seizure, simply by perking her ears up and running to lay beside him, before it even occurred! Believe it or not, but now my cat is always nearby when it happens too.

And finally, your "Deep Thoughts"; you're right about people who tell lies to themselves; makes for a long and unauthentic life, doesn't it? I know, I lied to myself for years regarding my first marriage...It will get better. Took me a long 24 years to finally realize that it takes two to make that happen. I'm so glad I accepted the truth of the matter and left, which by the way, was the most difficult thing I have ever done in my life, but because of it, I met Brian and now wouldn't change a thing.

Wow, sorry for the novel. Like I said, I've wondered where you've been, and I've missed you and your thoughts :)

it's hard to stay away from sugar hehe i hope it works out for you :) Great that you were able to get things done around your house before it rained :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86