My Spanish travel blog - part 5

in #blog7 years ago

IMG_5965.JPG

If you ever find yourself in the Valencia province of Spain you should consider a day trip to the adjacent villages of Albir and Altea.

IMG_5964.JPG

Today's blog will concentrate on the miner's trail to the faro d'Albir (the lighthouse of Albir). We have been doing this scenic walk each time we visit Spain and have usually done it in the evening at sunset when the temperature is slightly cooler. This year we did it early one morning and were rewarded with the sunrise streaming through the tunnel in the first photograph.

IMG_5973.JPG

You follow a well marked paved road from the car park above Albir in the Sierra Gelada. It was not always thus as originally the miner's trail was a precipitous 'path' over the mountain which was even deemed dangerous for pack animals. In 1961 a track and tunnel through the cliff were built and is now safe but still offers the fabulous scenery of this area.

IMG_5979.JPG

After 2.5km hugging the contour of the mountain you approach the lighthouse.

IMG_5977.JPG

It is still in operation and in the summer months there is a small museum open inside giving the history of the area.

IMG_5978.JPG

IMG_5983.JPG

IMG_5980.JPG

Here's one of the locals!

All photos taken with an iPhone S6 plus. Thank you for reading it.

Sort:  

great pictures / wonderful light ... lovely (-:

@greenstar a gorgeous post! Thank you!

I have never been to Spain but it will be one of the first places I travel to whenever I get to Europe. I have read so much about Spain through Hemingway that I hardly know where to start.

I have upvoted this post and followed you so that I may see your future posts. Feel free to flow me back.

Good luck on Steem and enjoy your journey!

Thanks for the kind words @braveboat and for the upvote. Enjoying my steem journey - hope you are too?

Amazing photos, I love the shots of the mountain.

Glad you like them @catonwheels - thanks for the upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34