Christmas in Thailand

in #blog5 years ago

Christmas isn't really celebrated in Thailand like it is in the west, but the holiday is embraced to a certain degree. There are no wreaths on doors and for the most part the households will not have a tree adorned with lights and gifts but in a somewhat ceremonial and fun sense it is celebrated in the schools.

0000ad1c_medium.jpg
source

When I was a teacher years ago, this used to annoy me because weeks were taken out of our actual curriculum to almost exclusively decorate the school and practice songs and plays to be performed during the Christmas presentation for the visiting parents. However, once I had a chance to think about it a bit, i think it is a good idea.

rtr4fhpo.jpg
source

You see, after years of living in this country and for a time being involved in the education system, i believe that Thai students are pushed too hard in their learnin'. They spend an extraordinary amount of time in school including (for the most part) 6 days a week in the classroom, after-school programs for several hours a day, and a few hours of homework a night as well. There isn't a whole lot of time to just be kids and have fun. Therefore, I think that this couple of weeks of just being silly and having fun is a good thing.

I currently live near a high school and each morning I can hear songs coming from the music building, which is about 100 meters away. I can hear them singing traditional songs like "The Little Drummer Boy" and they are really good. They even have a drummer in the song and I would say they have it nailed. It is actually a really nice start to my day as "Frosty the Snowman" normally fires up around 9am.

PANews BT_4da95b63-c2f5-4db6-b2e1-837ebe8998b8_I1.jpg
source

So even though it isn't part of their culture and for the most part, not part of their religion as Christianity is followed by a very small percentage of the country, I think it is a nice break for the kids and therefore I am for it and regret my opposition to the process back when I was a 6th grade teacher.

Consequently, the last two images I posted were world-records. Largest gathering of children in elf regalia, and the largest human Christmas tree. Well done kids!

Sort:  

Thailand is a very interesting country, there are also Buddhistic monks which sometimes live in mystical caves, if they are living there alone, they are called "Lersi" in Thailand

Never seen so many elf’s! Very funny looking in black hair and dark skin. LOL.
Yes! It’s a good time to have fun after having their brains numbed throughout the year!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55