Buying shoes was much harder than i feel it should be

in #blog5 years ago

Athletic shoes are manufactured primarily in South-East Asia. I have never understood why it is that something that has a very low logistical cost would actually be more expensive here than on the other side of the planet. It doesn't make sense but believe me, that is the case.

huh-meme-300x293.png

Therefore I decided to pick up some trainers when i was back in the States. Unfortunately, the process was not as simple as I had hoped because there are a million different kinds of shoes all claiming this technology and that, none of which I either understand nor believe. I remembered in the past that a very wealthy person I know bought me a pair of shes called Nike Free Rn and it had new technology that I am not going to try to explain but apparently it makes the shoes cost 3x as much.

Nike-Free-Run-2-Metallic-Silver.png

Rather than having a single sole the bottom of the shoe is separated into 50 different parts. I can only presume this is to enable better flexibility and this somehow makes you perform better. While I tried really hard to not be ungrateful, these shoes were almost completely useless anywhere than a perfectly clean surface and Thailand doesn't have very many of those.

Every time I wore these shoes anywhere I came back with all manor of crud stuck between the various gaps in the bottom of the shoe especially if i went anywhere in nature.


Returning to the States gave me the opportunity to go to a store I used to really enjoy called Shoe Carnival.
()

This monstrosity has 400,000 pairs of shoes all under one roof and you can try any of them on before deciding what to buy. At first I thought this was going to be fun way to get some new shoes but it was really just overwhelming as there were entirely too many options. Being faced with this conundrum I narrowed it down to New Balance because I had fond memories of a pair I bought like 20 years ago. Then the next problem began

I guess it must be in fashion but people are wearing some crazy colors now and it was difficult to find a pair that didn't have some sort of glowing neon color mixed in the color paradigm.

s-l300.jpg
is it a pair of shoes or a kid's birthday cake, i can't tell

Basically I would never wear anything that looks like that and I finally found a pair of trainers that was exactly what I was looking for. A single sole, no crazy colors, comfortable, and very similar to the shoe I had 20 years ago. It was actually the ONLY shoe in the store that met the criteria that I wanted.

mt410bs4_nb_14_i.jpg

Ladies and Gentlemen I give you the New Balance MT-410, which is an entirely too long name for a shoe. Were there 409 previous models? does it go up in increments of 10? Oh well i guess it doesn't matter. I was finally excited and at $50 it was one of the better values in the entire store.

Of course they didn't have my size. Thank goodness for Amazon I guess because I got them in the end thanks to a family member who has a "Prime" membership and for $10 less than Shoe Carnival.

On another note I think the days of Shoe Carnival and really anything else like it will be facing end days soon. It doesn't seem like a very viable business model and there was almost no one in the store despite it being Sunday in Christmas shopping season.

Sort:  

Choosing among many product and branding even will make us confuse. One tips gor buying it is do it as you see the acenery. When met the good one paid it.
Or better you choose the brand whiche make you sure with the product is good. Many manufacture dvelope their comodity better.
You csn be good consumer who wait new product...
Happy shoes shopping

I usually go crazy when I go shoe shopping (it's normal for women). At this time, there are so many choices of sneakers that it would be difficult for me to buy a single pair. I remember when I was a little girl we used to wear my two sisters and me the same pairs of shoes, so we had to order it in time to be able to use them. Also, when we ran out of shoes, the next sister inherited it. About that, and because I know you like movies, there is one called Zapatillas al cielo that talks about how two brothers should share a pair of shoes. Have a nice night.

I do get depressed when buying shoes knowing that they are just bid upon by the shoe companies who just put their names on them. I suppose it is income for families but I don't like the thought of someone making $.08 an hour so I can buy a brand.

That being said, New Balance has been a solid brand for a while and you got some good kicks at a good price!

i can't help but feel a little bit old in my New Balance shoes but you know what? I don't care :)

the expensive stuff is not always the best

It is very difficult to choose a pair of shoes among so many options, I understand you so much, @gooddream, hahaha. I found your comparison of shoes with many neon colors and a birthday cake very funny, I don't like them either. I'm more conservative and prefer blues, whites or blacks. I'm glad you could find the shoes you wanted. Now to walk them a lot, a hug, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94