You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You are a Zero | The Dust Threshold

in #blog6 years ago

It definitely seems that way. At least with some. I haven't ran into everyone yet. :) The sad thing is, I did buy SP, or STEEM rather, then powered it up. And it's not an insignificant amount for me. But to those holding higher SP it probably is too small to matter. :)

Sort:  

This is just showing that those with wallet power is the only thing that matter and should be rewarded.

For teh rest of the poor saps like me have some dusts.

What amazes me is the with each patch they do, it seems like the law of unintended consequences swings heaviest on the lower levels. I guess I would have to be on higher levels to really know, but I'm not, so I'm not sure what other perspective to try to have that I can actually relate to.

I'm still here, though. Posting, commenting and curating. :)

So that's basically making all votes under 1.2 get reabsorbed into the system? Which is supposed to stop larger accounts from making those 5% votes? Does that compound like the dust vote, or if 10 people made 10 votes worth 1 each it would all get absorbed?

I think the payout dust threshold is slightly higher than 1.2, but basically yes—if something doesn't get over the threshold, and then maintain it (because amounts adjust over the seven day period) then it's gone, reabsorbed, whatever happens to it. That part, I'm not so clear on, just where it all goes. It would seem to me that once it's created and allocated that it couldn't just disappear, which means it goes somewhere. I don't know. I've been hoping someone might answer that.

I'm not sure what it's supposed to do against the larger accounts. It's supposedly keeps the computation load on the blockchain down. That's what I got out of it.

As long as the accumulative amount on the comment or post exceeds the payout threshold (0.019 or whatever) then no, it wouldn't be absorbed. So ten people each voting $0.01 would make $0.10 and get paid accordingly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59417.60
ETH 2672.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44