Museum of living computers: Inspiration from the past

in #blog6 years ago

There is no doubt computer technologies changed our lives. Computers are used in most aspects of human experiences nowadays. Be it at home, at work, traveling, schools, hospitals, businesses, etc. We take computers for granted and forget that it wasn't too long ago when it all started.

Of course, historians and academics would dig deeper into the past and go as far to the invention of abacus, numbers, and mathematics to give a broader context to the history computer technologies in our lives. However, the most interesting innovations in computer technologies that truly changed everyday human experiences started only half a century ago. Half a century is a very short period of time compared to the history of mankind. It is fascinating to see a lot of computers made during this time are already obsolete and found their place in museums.

We visited the museum of living computers, where there were many computers from the past. Most of the computers there are fully usable, and visitors can play with them and get the feel of how it all started.

IMG_0928.JPG

This is Apple I prototype computer that was taken from Steve jobs office after he left Apple in 1985. After Steve Jobs left Apple, staff was invited to take whatever was still in his old office. When Don Hutmacher, who worked at Apple as manufacturing engineer, arrived there wasn't much left and grabbed old Apple I computer in a prototype metal case.

IMG_0958.JPG

There was a large section of the museum dedicated to Apple. When we think of Apple "the two Steves" come to mind: Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak.

Steve Wozniak was an engineer's kid, raised in the shadow of a thriving electronics industry. Woz, as his friends called him, built his first computer in 1971 with his pal Bill Fernandez. Bill also introduced Woz to an electronics enthusiast names Steve Jobs. Though Jobs was nearly five years younger than Woz, the two bonded over a shared passion for electronics, Bob Dylan, and practical jokes.

IMG_0947.JPG

IMG_0951.JPG

IMG_0924.JPG

IMG_0954.JPG

IMG_0911.JPG

IMG_0929.JPG

Apple's contribution to the advancement of computer technologies is absolutely incredible. Apple computers that were displayed at the museum were the ones from 1976 to 1999, from the garage to the iMacs. Of course, there are other small and big players in the industry that had significant contributions. Among them, one of the biggest ones is without a doubt Microsoft.

IMG_0938.JPG

IMG_0939.JPG

While Apple's business model was to build both, the operating system and the hardware, Microsoft took a different approach. Their business model entails focus on the operating system and software and letting other companies deal with the hardware. First with DOS, then Windows Microsoft conquered globe with their software. I will be discussing more Microsoft in one of my future posts, where I would like to share our trip to Microsoft's campus.

There were many more different home computers by other companies as well.

IMG_0940.JPG

IMG_0941.JPG

IMG_0942.JPG

IMG_0943.JPG

IMG_0944.JPG

IMG_0946.JPG

IMG_0955.JPG

IMG_0956.JPG

IMG_0957.JPG

Museum also had sections designated for digital art, robotics, history of microprocessors, virtual & augmented reality technologies, mobile technology, gaming, mainframes, as well as a simulation for self-driving cars. I would like to share rest of our tour of the museum of living computers in my future posts.

Thank you for reading. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments section.

Sort:  

Hi, @geekgirl,

Thanks for this lovely article and report about your museum visit.

I lived through this entire period, and have either owned, used, or at the very least recognize almost every one of the computers on display here. ;) Very interesting, very nostalgic.

I would also like to thank you so much for your recent assistance helping me achieve access to SteemSQL from my Mac. I really appreciate it. I am a long-time geek myself, and have been threatening to develop some apps and utilities in the Steemit universe, and you've helped me along that path.

I'm following you now, and hope to stay in touch. Thanks again!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Awesome. I am glad you finally got it to work. I will keep in touch, as I am sure there is plenty I can learn from you. Thanks

Thanks again. I'm sitting here trying to figure out how to do some of the queries I really want to do... Steep learning curve! But you've given me the basics, and I'm very grateful. ;)

You can dm me when you are in chat, we could share ideas.

This museum looks really cool @geekgirl. I see that the computers are still functional. I wonder if you were able to put your hands on some of those. I miss using old computers and i'm curious on how the older ones work.

Yes most of them were functional and working fine. It was all hands on, that's why I guess call it a museum of living computers. We wouldn't use them for day to day activities, but they can be appreciated as work of art now.

I totally agree! It's always good to look back and appreciate the things we had in the past. It helps us give more value on things we take for granted nowadays. I can't imagine myself doing artworks using those. It must be really hard before but they were able to create great art. And now the tool becomes a work of art as well. @geekgirl

I always feel good to go into the past and see how people used to live and use different devices/tools in their daily life. Have you heard about Taxila? It's not related to computers but an ancient city in Pakistan. I once went there and saw a new but old world!

No, I haven't heard about Taxila. But yes, history never stops amazing me. We have come so far as humanity.

What a blast from the past! It's great to see so many of those tech milestones side by side. Good job documenting this. One question: Where is this museum located?

Sometimes I remember the video equipment I used to schlepp in days of old, when I'm taking out my smartphone to record something. :-) Especially kids need to see where it all came from and get an incling of how many people had to work hard to make today's conveniences possible.

The museum is in Seattle. Yes, we took kids there. They had a lot of fun.

This was my previous boss's favorite museum! Thanks for sharing it here. My boyfriend has an Apple iic that still works that we play with sometimes. It's funny how these old computers feel familiar and foreign at the same time.

This was our first visit there. Kids loved the place, and it was a good experience before they went back to school after the winter break. The speed of innovation in this space is incredible, keeps us wondering what is coming next.

Very cool to see all of those old computers. My first computer was a TRS-80. I made my first video game on it. All of my friends had Commodore 64's and I wanted one. Seems like you are a Mac girl? Mac is my preference but I have to use a Windows based computer at work for all of the accounting software and spreadsheets that I use. Thanks for the tour and walk down memory lane.

Yes, my preference is Mac and everything Apple :) lol. However, I do appreciate other companies and their products too.

Wow we came a long way! And I am so glad Steve and the Woz changed my life....I am a self employed Apple Consultant now all because of these two guys!

Those are great minds that had a big impact in computer technologies.

I can personally remember working on the Apple Power Macs in elementary school in the 90's!!! They were all sorts of different colors.. Then as time progressed we had flat screens and smaller computer processors that never seemed to work in HS..

I used to have an old Dell from the 90's that would practically scream at you when you switch it on because of the fans i believe. Ah the easy days..

All those ancient programs too.. phew

Time flies, progress and innovation continues indeed. I guess all of these are necessary steps to make something better, be it hardware or software.

Time does fly. :[

Maybe advancements will help us to slow it down some how in the future lol

You may have noticed one of your photos had an atari joystick. A lot of people dont know that steve jobs and steve wozniak first worked together as developers of atari hardwarw and software. Its crazy how thats never talked about bc atari was such a popular company in the 1980’s. A lot of what we saw in the final product of computers was first developed in gaming consoles where more “mad scientist” 👨🏽‍🔬 like experimentation was going on. The stuff that worked was implemented into computers and what didnt was cast aside. Heres a mini documentary (12 min) about Steve jobs and Wozniak’s time at atari.

I thought Jobs was the one who worked at Atari, and he made Wozniak (who worked for HP) do his work for him or something like that. I didn't watch the documentary yet, I will later. Thanks for sharing.

Thats basically what happened, but atari was aware of wozniak’s help.

This really brought back some memories. Do you remember playing Oregon Trail on the early Macintosh?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90