My Five Minute Life #8 Back to School. A Day in the Life

in #blog7 years ago

Today was the first day back to teaching in 2018. I teach 8th grade Language Arts in the United States. I was so glad to be back in my classroom!

C452999A-7AC2-4407-A966-11ACFCC371C3.jpeg

Technically, we should not have returned to school until tomorrow, but due to Hurricane Irma we had to return a day early to make up for the lost time.

My attendance was 100% today in every single one of my classes. Since today was the first day of the quarter, some students received schedule changes. Many times, a class change occurs due to a state test score. Apparently, one of my students was frustrated with her new schedule. I found this note in the back my class after the students left.

CCB593C8-6D97-49B0-AB34-74F44AC831A7.jpeg

The little broken heart broke my heart. I teach teenagers. That’s a rough for even the strongest of people. Many of our students express themselves through drawing and painting. I decided to take a few pictures of some of the drawings around my room just to give you an impression.

0AA131CC-2195-4DA9-AA1C-6CE1597ACD4D.jpeg

Often, I will have students draw the images they see in the poetry they read. Here is the display of some work from our Edgar Alan Poe unit.
5FBF298D-C782-4E7A-8EAA-C9CBA5443A56.jpeg

Our public school focuses on the arts and it works very well to keep our students motivated. I truly believe in arts in education.

Oh, and my Christmas present from my brother fit in perfectly with my class decor.

FCE27A85-32EF-4918-A980-E13D316CF1DA.jpeg

I guess you know why they call me Gator :)

I hope all the students and teachers out there had a great first day back!

Blessings,
Gator

@gatorlynne

Sort:  

I'm so glad to see a teacher who loves students and her calling. The teacher next door came home today - I was shovelling snow - She gave me a fatigued half wave. She hates her job. She reminds me of D H Lawrence's poem, Afternoon In School The Last Lesson:

When will the bell ring, and end this weariness?
How long have they tugged the leash, and strained apart
My pack of unruly hounds?

Oh, that poem is a gem!! I know quite a few teachers like that. Got to look for the joy in all to be a teacher. Kids feed off the negative. I find positive works better for my class. Thanks for the encouragement! Blessings!

Have you read secrets of the millionaire mind?

It's a mind changer in the best way.
I even use it's principals on my kids.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79