#1 Morning Routine - Breaking 3 habits

in #blog6 years ago

Happy Monday my fellow Steemians!

After reading a couple of articles, I noticed that what burns me out most is that I give myself too many options that I can take in the morning instead of a morning routine that I can blindly follow.

2016-11-27 15.13.15 HDR.jpg

Cutting out options

My current routine is not working for me. I wake up (after snoozing) and the first thing I do is check my phone and see what kind of notifications it has produced during the night. I can feel my heartbeat rising as my brain already is making more decisions than necessary.

It is time to fix some of my current habits and limit my options.

1. No phone in the bedroom
This is (for me) the hardest habit to break. I am so used to waking up with the bright white light and all its notifications, it gives me a weird sense of joy. While writing this, I did some research and found that it gives me more stress that my phone is next to me than that it does any good when waking up.

2. Wake up time
Currently, I set my alarm at 6:30AM and I usually wake up at 7:30AM. I snooze a lot and usually don’t even notice that I already snoozed for an hour before I actually wake up. It makes me feel as I can’t trust myself to wake up and I actually don’t need to be up at 6:30AM. To get rid of that feeling, I’ll just set my alarm at 7:30AM and trust myself to wake up at that time.

3. Meditate
Every evening I tell myself: “Tomorrow morning will be the first morning of 2017 (now 2018 already) that I’ll meditate for 10 minutes!” .. as we are already in 2018, imagine how often that happened. Zero. I always feel like I don’t have time in the morning, as I expect more of myself in a timeframe that can’t be achieved.

Morning routine now
Morning routine to be
6:30AM Alarm set – snooze7:30AM Alarm set – wake up
7:30AM wake up and grab phone7:40AM Getting up and shower
8:05AM Getting up and shower8:00AM Meditate
8:25AM Make coffee8:10AM Make coffee
8:30AM Breakfast8:15AM Breakfast
8:35AM Get ready for work8:25AM Get ready for work
8:45AM Go to work8:30AM Go to work

The above table is an indication of my morning routine now, usually I'm running around like a chicken with her head cut off.

I am looking at this as a new challenge, which you will be updated about every week for at least a month. As I am curious by nature, I'd love to hear what your morning routine looks like and if it works for you! Or is there something you’d like to change?

With love, Christina

Sort:  

You should read this blog post on sleeping: https://blog.bulletproof.com/how-to-hack-your-sleep-the-art-and-science-of-sleeping/! He argues that the secret of a good night sleep is not the amount of hours you sleep, but has more the do with the quality of sleep within those hours! Great read and I think it could help you in achieving these goals!

Thanks! I just read the article, there are some good tips in there which I can use. Any of those you tried?

Started following some of the tips for three days now (yay) and, for what it is worth, up until now it has done nothing but good things to my sleep! My pre-sleep routine now consists of a few simple things:

  • picking my clothes for the next day
  • taking one tablespoon of honey
  • taking one Omega 3 supplement
  • taking one magnesium supplement
  • putting my phone in airplane modus

And so far it is really helping me in getting up earlier and feeling good right after waking up!

Good to hear! I'll update you about my sleep cycle next Monday ;)

Great photo Lovely routinePretty nice

Thanks Tokoya

A nice pond to wake up in the morning too.
thumb01

Was the Japanese garden in Hamburg 🤗 so serene!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82