My cousin, Ashley, got hitched!

in #blog4 years ago

Hello everyone! Can you feel the spirit of the yuletide season? Well, I sure you do. I, on the other hand, had been feeling it before December because in the Philippines, we consider the start of September to be the start of Christmas season.

Anyway, there were a lot of events too that made me feel so blessed. On of it was my cousin's wedding last December 12.

Few days before the wedding of my cousin Ashley and her long-term boyfriend RN, they were able to hand us the wedding invitation since our uncle went home from Saudi Arabia for his yearly Christmas vacation.

My brother and I were late for the event because we both helped out on my friend's engagement.

Anyway, the wedding day came and I thought I was going to be late because according to the wedding invitation, the wedding starts by four in the afternoon. I was shocked upon arriving at the wedding venue there were only a number of people around. I have thought that the wedding would start an hour after I arrived which exactly has happened.

As you can see, the venue is not filled with a lot of decorations. The venue itself has been well decorated because the hotel has chosen furnitures (chairs and tables) that complement with the structure of the Veranda. The pink and purple shade of flowers made the place looked more lovely. To note, the pink ribbons that were tied on the rest of the rattan chair completed the set up.

I was very excited for my cousin's wedding because I know they had been together for nine (9) years already. I had seen the ups and downs in their relationship as boyfriend and girlfriend. But it was truly the love of the Lord that bound them and made them as one in marriage.

After greeting some of our relatives at the wedding venue, I took time to talk to the bride. She was really dashing in her wedding dress. I wanted to hug her of course but that would ruin her HMU. I just tried to comfort her for a short time because she was really feeling nervous, but I know how much she loves RN that she would not think of backing out.

Meanwhile, I got to take photos with and photos of with some of my relatives. I felt bad though that my mother and brother could not make it because of their busy schedule. Aside from that, my mother wasn't feeling okay hours before the wedding.

Here comes the groom and the bride!

I know I should have taken a lot of photos but I was captivated by the wedding ceremony. RN really cried while Ashley was walking down the aisle. It put almost everyone into tears as well.

Sometime during the wedding ceremony, I asked my Aunt Maye and Shekinah that we should have our photos taken at the book which is located near the entrance of the Veranda. I guess we have should have taken two more sets of photos so that each of us can have a copy, but it was almost dinner time so we decided to head back to our respective tables.

And yes! I am thankful that my father came. He was not on time but at least he came at the wedding. Well, he's quite busy though because as he said, there were a lot of papers to check and sign.

The reception program wasn't that much which made it very light for everyone. There were games that made people laugh and enjoy each other's company.

What moved me the most is that when they serenaded us. It was Ashley who sang while RN was playing the guitar.

The song was Still The One by Shania Twain.

"Looks like we made it
Look how far we've come, my baby
We mighta took the long way
We knew we'd get there someday

They said, "I bet they'll never make it"
But just look at us holding on
We're still together, still going strong."

I really wanted to cry but that would totally be embarrassing. It really struck me so hard. Certainly, it would be nice to have someone to love you against all odds, but I guess I would not have one in this lifetime. I am not mad though.

Lucky me! I was able to gather a lot of flowers from the flower presentations that were made on the table after the wedding reception.

I was able to ask permission and thought it would be nice to decorate the living room with different flower arrangement. It would have been a waste then since the crew would just throw them somewhere else when the wedding reception ends.

And I must say, they all look lovely! They got to live longer than I expected. It really takes effort and love to make them last longer. I included the plushies that Ate Sharon gave to us (my mom and I).

Going back to the wedding. It was indeed one of the most intimate and sweetest wedding I attended. Although there were only few people who attended and witnessed the tying of the know by the lovely couple, our hearts sank with their story.

All I wish for them is that the Lord will bless their marriage. I wonder when would be mine though.

Love,
Gail

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It was a good event I guess, you look great and all the best wishes for your Ashley

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82