My thoughts on Martin Luther King Jr Day

in #blog7 years ago

P_20170416_152457_HDR.jpgIt's funny yesterday I was thinking of how this year the progressive media would celebrate by pointing out that MLK was a notorious womanizer, he was a deplorable southern gun toting republican male after all. I don't actually watch any of that crap so I don't know if they have or not but I hope they have not stooped that low, yet it would not surprise me.

I didn't really think about it again until today until I was in the grocery store with my young son and he asked "Why are the lights off in there?" pointing at the bank branch inside the store.
"well today is a holiday and banks are closed on holidays and so the bank is close"
"what holiday is it"
"Today is called Martin Luther King day"
"Well who is that?"
Now I had to think for a minute, how do I explain all of this to a toddler?
"He was a man who worked so that people could have freedom"

the photos and content are mine, please comment, vote and follow

Sort:  

This article has some nuances by the things you say, about MLK.

Just info. :)

If you google it there is all sorts of ways to approach the subject with kids, I was sort of amazed at the amount of information available and the various ways to discuss who and what he stood for.

I couldn't imagine stopping to look that up or valuing someone else's opinion of what I should tell my kid, I just needed to think about it. And of course I don't use Google no how. That shit is evil, except on my phone, because "ok google" is awesome.

.....I imagine in a grocery store full of women it was easier explaining what womanizing meant then a lesson on civil rights.
.....same reason I recommended a google search, way easier.

lol, I luckily didn't have to explain womanizing to him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50