don't break down the wall

in #blog5 years ago

There's a time and a place to break the 4th wall.

There used to be this bus driver. He'd announce the bus stops and various other information he wanted us to know with a reckless amount of enthusiasm. High level voice and he'd deliver it consistently without fail, as though he was a soundtrack.

Hard to know exactly what level he's on.

I always liked when he was the driver. He made it fun, and also was really nice to anyone who ever had a question. (Albeit with some enthusiasm.)

One day I decided to tell him something along the lines of I appreciate him and he makes the bus ride more fun. And I think I also told him he has a great voice and should look into ways to use it.

And of course in a sense he appreciates it, but something felt wrong as I did it. His reaction mostly came across to me as slightly embarrassed and out of his normal character and not sure what to say.

I think basically what happened is I lowered the level.

Like if a sex freak has his role play partners doing exactly what he wants, and one of them talks about real life for a second. He already knows this is fun. The most fun is if I say "thank you driver" and get off the bus.

I've been watching this chess man on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6hOVYvNn79Sl1Fc1vx2mYA/videos

Good channel. Nice soothing guy. I've noticed that he looks exactly the same all the time.

Like basically meaning hair and beard.

Personally I wait the maximum and get a haircut every 4ish months. Maybe a little longer sometimes. Not really sure.

Multiple reasons for it. The primary is probably procrastination. The one I deliberately think about is that you get the most value out of it -- they don't charge based on how many inches they're cutting off. And then an accidental thing is I get to vary between different hairstyles.

There's like a green banana -- yellow banana -- brown banana thing where it takes a bit to grow in, and then there's a sweet spot period where I love my hair and it spikes straight up if I push it that way wet out of the shower and no one can ever believe there's no hair product in it and my hair can just do this. (There's not even shampoo. Properly named. Dries your hair and causes dependency. Totally unneeded.)

John from chess apparently likes to keep it right in the heart of the yellow banana.

I thought about commenting my discovery, but decided to keep it for myself.

Sort:  

Hahaha too cool!

I totally get it with the driver dude. Sometimes its better to not sat anything but just appreciate as subtly as possible!

Are the spikes back!!? I remember they sort of went away after you cut it during the travelinh l.

I think 4 months is super cool too. This just made me remember its been exactly four years since I cut my hair. I might do it again now. Then again. Then 2021 I plan to let it grow for years. Then go low forever. I got it all mapped out LOL.

wait, what!?!? 🤔🤔 your hair is usually short tho. you mean 4 years since you cut it but you shave it or buzz it or something?? 🤔🤔

it's almost spikey right now!! it's in the pre spikey phase. and ya exactly!! it took a long time to spike that time, got cut pretty short, but then it spiked, and i finally cut it a week or two ago baha. and now it's getting close to spiking but not quite there.


and yup exactly! gotta just enjoy the bus driver, not take him off his game and make him start thinking about it

Fuckin typo haha I meant 4 months! It's been exactly four months. facepalms

that makes so much more sense 😬😬😬😬

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85