Something from my bar whenever I feel like it episode 3

in #blog8 years ago


Today we have another fancy bottle or decanter from my bar.  Don't know too much about this one and there is little info on the bottle.

Title of this one is KINGS AFRICAN RIFLE CORPS 1914.  The bottle is a Grenadier spirits decanter from February of 1971.   This bottle is part of a series by Grenadier celebrating 200 year anniversary of the birth of the American Revolutionary Army.

I tried to do some research on this item but couldn't find too much.  I did manage to find one newspaper article  about it.  Apparently it has an interesting history and possibly shouldn't exist at all.  

 

The Times from San Mateo, California, Aug 27 1971

To support his statements, Spina held up a soldier of the Kings African Rifle Corps (1914) and told how it had failed to pass close U.S. government scrutiny on its size. "It held more than a fifth of cream sherry, but not quite a quart. So we had to send it back and destroy every bottle," he said. Somehow, several dozen bottles "disappeared" en route back to Japan. "Those rejects are similar to a stamp or coin that has been misprinted - Someday they'll be worth a considerable amount of money," Spina said.  

 

I hope this is one of those bottles.  The fact that it never had in import seal seems to support that it might be. 


The bottle is still full and like the rest of my collection I plan to keep it that way.  If you know any more about it please let me know.

 



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44