Feeling torn - work/work balance and an exciting announcement

in #blog6 years ago

You hear so much about work/life balance. For me, it's more about work/work balance. There is the work I have to do to finish my degree which would otherwise be useless in the future and the work I want to do in my small business.
mara-page-88477-unsplash.jpg
Source

Finding balance?

This semester, I'm taking a smaller load and hoping to get a couple of days every week to work on my passion work and hopefully, make it pay something in the long run.

I'm working intensely right now to get a little ahead on the work I have to do. We have a lot of reading to do for my class and I'm finding it difficult because the subject is my least favourite and I can't stop thinking about my business.

Making a schedule

I'm a planner so I tend to make schedules when I can't make things work. Here's my current schedule for September
Monday: Read for school
Tuesday: Read for school + lecture
Wednesday: Read for school
Thursday: Work on business at least part of the day; Read for school if needed
Friday: Read for school + lecture

Over time I would love for my schedule to look more like this:
Monday: Read for school
Tuesday: Read for school + lecture
Wednesday: Work on business
Thursday: Work on business
Friday: Read for school + lecture

That adds up to one full day of lectures, two days of reading for school and two days of working on my business. Right now, there's not much time to dedicate to the business and what little time I do have, I spend on Steemit and while I love it here, I have other stuff to do as well to build my dream.

Putting my business first - The announcement!

I have a very supportive husband and when I suggested taking some dedicated time to work on a course I have to finish in September he was all for it. That means I've planned a getaway, to Carla of course. I'll be there for two solid days of working and might have some odd time on the travel days as well. Hopefully, that'll be enough time to finish the course. I'm very excited about my upcoming getaway. I hear of successful people going off to hotels to work on projects and such, but we have never been able to afford it (sidenote, are hotels much cheaper in the States?).
Then, I'll finally be able to give the course the attention it deserves. Once I get back home, I'm sure I'll have a lot of energy and time for my little man and my husband because of the time away.

It's almost two weeks before I leave, but I will begin to plan it soon.

Bringing my Bible

On my work retreat (can you couple those words?), I'll bring my Bible as well. I miss having long stretches of time to get lost in it like I used to before Littleman arrived. I will be digging into the Proverbs 31 lady when I get the chance and prepare some things for the upcoming study. But mostly, I'll just be reading for the good of my soul.

Have you ever gone on a retreat?

Do you have any advice for me?

Sort:  

Interesting... I've never heard of going to a hotel to work before, but I don't hear much. :) Hotels range from $100 - $250 per night in our area -- largely depending on the quality and location.

Ah, that'll get you a bunk in a hostel here :)
I was advised to do so by my (former) coach and I've heard a good deal of people recommend it in general as well.

Never been on a retreat just to get away to get things done.
Here is my advice:

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

Oh, that was very fitting. I will keep that in mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97