Arctic Adventure in the Alps

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I was in the mood for an arctic adventure. And what's the best way to do so in Central Europe? Climbing mount Daniel in Austria at 2340 meters.

Snapseed.jpg

It was chillingly cold, way below zero Celsius. But climbing the 1400 hight meters warmed me up. I can assure you.

Snapseed.jpg

The clouds were thick almost all the time but sometimes they tore apart and offered views like this.

Snapseed.jpg

Or this. It's the Zugspitze (2962 m), Germany's highest mountain. I climbed it in summer, gonna make a post about it later.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The higher I came, the colder and darker it became. I met two other guys that had turned around. They hadn't expected such harsh conditions. There was no trail visible anymore.

Snapseed.jpg

But I went on. The snow grew higher. With every step I sank in up to my knees. That's what I had expected and why I left my beloved dog Mable at home. She's no Husky after all 😉

Snapseed.jpg

At the peak the sight was poor. No panorama shot from up there. Sorry. But at least I was the only one who made it up there that day 😊

Snapseed.jpg

The way downhill was quite slippery. But luckily I had my crampons and my hiking poles with me.

Snapseed.jpg

I came along a cabin. It was officially closed but the keeper and his family still prepared it for the long winter pause until May. I knocked and they asked me in. They served me hot liver dumpling soup and treated me a cold pear-honey schnaps. Yummy!

(All pics by me. As a newbie I'd love to get feedback to improve my posts.)

Sort:  

Wow well worth it thought for those cracking view amazing thanks!

Thank you for the encouragement. 😊

Your welcome keep them coming !

Congratulations @freistaat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @freistaat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @freistaat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62770.12
ETH 3467.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53