Korean words every K-DRAMA Fan needs to know

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Are you new to the world of K-pop or K-drama, or just need a refresher on what the heck everyone's talking about? Is there a word you've always wondered about but were afraid to ask?

Annyounghaseyo!!! Many of us Filipinos support and love Korean dramas and I must admit as a housewife I am one of them of who will forget to sleep just to have one more episode. It's like it will not stop until I finish the whole episodes.

I started liking "Koreanovelas" also called as Korean dramas when The Legend of the Blue Sea came out. We literally don't have a television but we have a desktop and a laptop. As I scroll down my facebook page using my phone, the trailer of the Legend of the Blue Sea keeps appearing. So the next day I started searching it on the internet and luckily it just started in Korea. Every week there is 2 episodes and as me and my husband watch it we want to watch it more. And that's how it all started.

So now I'm going to teach you some of the korean words I learned from watching "Koreanovelas".

You might get frustrated how they used these following words when they call a person. Always remember to pay your respect.

"UNNIE" which means "older sister" in Korean and is used by younger girls when speaking to older girls who are related or not.

"HYUNG" which means "older brother" in Korean and is used by younger boys when speaking to older boys who are related or not.

"NOONA" which means "older sister" used by males related or not, speaking to an older woman or girl.

And our favorite korean word to use:

"OPPA" means "older brother," oppa is a term used by girls when speaking to guys. "Oppa" is also loosely used to flirt and show affection for an older guy not related to a girl. Never, ever insult a girl's oppa... don't.

"AJUSSHI" means "uncle", but is used in polite conversation to refer to a man who is older than you, and who you don't know well. A bit like calling someone "Sir" in English.

"DAEBAK" is an expression used to praise something that is big, positive, and great.

"FIGHTHING"! is like a phrase that means "You can do it!"

"MICHYEOSSEO" which means "Are you crazy?".

"OMO!" is the "OMG" of Korea. One usually uses this term when wanting to make a current situation even more dramatic. This term is best used when you find out something extremely surprising and shocking. If you really want to sound like you're shocked use multiple "omos" back to back really fast!

"OTTEOKE" which means what do i do?

"JINJJA" means "really?"

"YOEJACHINGU" means girlfriend and "NAMJACHINGU" is boyfriend.

"JOAHAE" means I like you.

"BOGOSHIPEO" means I miss you.

"GWENCHANA" means are you okay?.

"SARANGHAE" means I love you.

That's all I know for now. Which korean words do you like the most?

Comment below :)

Here's a picture of all the OPPA'S that I know. Saranghae!!!!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing :-) @freefreebies I am following. Best of Luck !

image

** Congratulations you @freefreebies have provided a useful post.
Continue to work by providing interesting information.
Follow @syehlah as your appreciation to us.
We will always follow your post.
Thank you **.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72