Livin' The Dream

in #blog6 years ago

Livin' The Dream.


That is how I answer anyone that asks how I am doing. Each day we have a choice to be happy. We could also choose to be angry or bitter, but that is no way to be!

To go with the idea of livin' the dream I thought I would share a bit of my day. It was a beautiful day and things seemed to flow today. The homestead is beginning to come to life and spring seems to be coming quickly. Our focus is a little different this year. We would normally be talking about what to plant in the garden, or maybe what animals might be coming, but not this year. We have our sights on something different. We are putting the finishing touches on our home and setting our minds toward the north.

In between my time on Steemit (everytime I walk past the phone) and doing things for Stacie D, I managed to get some projects going.

As I have been doing the flooring in stages, today I did the main section of the downstairs floor. Stacie D just couldn't help herself.... it has been four years! 🙃

Next came a project that I have been working on for nearly a year. Some dear friends of ours got married last September and I had planned to build them a custom kitchen knife. I didn't quite have the things I needed to bring my vision to life. So, just the other day I got some new sanding belts in the mail. Today I put a nice shine on the blade and started the handle work. I am using laminated piano leg for the handle. This should give a fun tie dyed look.

To round out my afternoon I got a long over due chore done. I rescreened a window. This may not seem like a big deal, but it surely needed done. One of our dogs (not George) jumped through the window.

These may seem like no big deal, but to me it is livin' the dream. After years of working at a 9 to 5 and not having anytime to get anything done, this is amazing.

Each day that I wake up I choose to be positive. I choose to appreciate my life, the ups and downs. I choose to love and to share. Be well!🙃

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

I love that kind of "living the dream" day! A little bit of this, a little bit of that...and some accomplishments! That knife looks really neat!!

Thank you. It was a great day. I hope the knife turns out as cool as I imagine!

I just saw this post and had to say I love that your wife is snow angel-ing on the new floor! She has spirit! I love it! I had a friend ask the other day, y'all don't have a TV? What do you do? Brandon and I Woo Hoo ALOT! and act crazy. Glad to see y'all having a good day Livin' the Dream!
_Lindsey

She is a pistol for sure. She is still so excited to have proper flooring and a kitchen sink. We do have a T.V. we mostly watch movies or t.v.series. life is good! Check her out @freedomtowrite

Haha I'm glad you liked my floor angel! It's the little things in life...I could've just smiled a lot, but I did what was in my heart! Haha It's good to meet you Lindsey or @aktinyhome!

I love it! Whats in your heart is fun girl! Good for y'all! It makes my heart smile when I see people following theirs. I just followed your channel. You guys are a perfect couple. Keep on living' your dreams every day! :)

Thank you!! I am following you now too! I love that the first description on your page is "artists". That paints a great picture!

get them screens fixed bro.. The bugs are coming..

Yeah man! They are coming quick!

Looked like a good day indeed.

Oh yeah! I love it!

That floor looks great!

Good for you brother! It sounds like you are living your dream. Working a 9-5 is over rated.

That is for real!

Sometimes it is the little projects that give the greatest satisfaction. Good work on the "little stuff".

Each day we have a choice to be happy. We could also choose to be angry or bitter, but that is no way to be!

-I love that! I am trying to be mindful of this fact more often. At the suggestion of a friend I started a new morning meditation routine today of thanks/gratitude. As the coffee is brewing I sat in a comfy chair, eyes closed hand over my heart; deep breath in through the nose and with every exhale through the mouth a simple "thank you" was said. The thanks was for the breath and life. I then conjured up an image of an important person in my life, breathed them in, held them for a moment and then softly said, "thank you" with the exhale. Is was a beautiful way to start the day and certainly set a good mood of gratitude for my life and those who play an important roll in it.

Yeah, man, that sounds amazing! Anytime you get an opportunity to be mindful it is great. Have a great day. Be well!

You are living the dream @freedompoint. This is the freedom which is a dream to so many.
Great job on the floor and the knife looks amazing.
Every day is a happy day.

Thank you! Be well!

The extraordinary work of a steemit, sometimes doing himself more actively. I like the way you make your own that I'm working on. there is satisfaction when we can do it ourselves. I plan also today to cut the grass, but I postpone tomorrow. Enjoy your day and succeed with your family.

Thank you. Be well!

Great Post! Difficult Line to Walk but it is a Choice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56834.19
ETH 2500.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27