Sort:  

I worked as a waitress through school, so I can very much relate, only I got the added perk of dealing with these jerks face-to-face. Honestly, I think everyone should have to work in the service industry at some point in their lives, just so that they can get a taste of what it's like to be on the receiving end of some stranger's shit attitude.

Anyway, now you have me wondering -- who are the worst celebrities?

Customer service can be a difficult sector to work in. I have worked in face to face environments and call centres and I can honestly say customers are worse on the phone. Their attitudes are much worse. They are cowards because they hide behind a phone. They wouldn't dare to speak to you face to face the way many can when hiding behind a phone or email. As regards celebrities it's probably best I keep that to myself for now.

I think digital media has transformed polite society into brainless, rude, twits. I remember having to say please, thank you, address people politely no matter their place or job as a child growing up in America during the 1960s. I feel like I'm on a different planet interacting with people face to face and on the net. I worked in probate and real estate law, the cases I worked on as a legal assistant were horrific. The family will turn on the elderly, children, each other for things that are worthless compared to the worth of their families health, honor, and integrity.

I don't think it is digital media that has given this transformation. Sadly this is the fault of society in general aided by successive immoral governments who do not care for social cohesion and good behaviour, as they are too preoccupied with ensuring we are all morally bankrupt money obsessed robots. But things can change.

Reminds me of a book I read....

Leaders symbolize what the country stands for. As corruption becomes routine in Washington in both parties, it trickles down as a corrupting influence in everyone's lives... Democracy is the ultimate casualty, and the sapping of democratic life is the most serious contribution of corporate ascendancy to our spiritual decline. As democracy ebbs, Americans retreat into private cocoons, feeling helpless to make a difference... In a democracy, civic participation and the belief in one's ability to contribute to the common good is the most important guarantor of public morality. When that belief fades, so too does the vision of the common good itself.

Charles Derber
Corporation Nation, p317

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75