You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Save Your Precious Finished Article Somewhere Permanent And Safe Before You Post It -- Don't trust the vagaries of Markdown!!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

At bare minimum select all & copy to clipboard before hitting post button is a good habit IMHO

eg CTRL A & CTRL C in windows
Ctrl V will paste if needed.

Sort:  

That is the bare minimum ... and it's a better idea than to wind up with a vanishing post. But if your life is as easily distracted as mine, I might wind up doing something else in the meantime, forgetting what was on the clipboard and over-writing it before getting back to try to post again. (I've done something along those lines more time than I can count.)

But, yes, I always put my finished and formatted post on the clipboard before hitting the "post" button and I put it somewhere and save it ... just in case. Life is too short to lose all that work just because when it's time to post, Steemit decides not to play.

(When you're a writer, there are lots of other reasons for saving your work in a form you can return to whenever you want. But I won't try to go into those here. Not losing it in the first place right off the bat is one of the best!)

Thank you for stopping by, @fred777bear. I appreciate your comment.

I agree, I edit / prep in word.
But I know many only write their posts in the markdown editor.

I only discovered people did this a couple of days ago. I was appalled! I would never ever consider composing something in Markdown, with that as my original and only copy -- although frankly, that explains a lot, if you know what I mean!!

They grew up on a diet of the facebook thing !!
I've lost 1 to many pieces of work / code over the years!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52