Can we see the day when Steem is the new Reddit?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago


One of the first things that I learnt about Steem is the ambition to replace social and content creating site like Reddit, and that excited me very much since I know how powerful the community is from Reddit Except it did not come true and Steem is still merely a subset of Reddit, or subreddit technically(sadly).

Most powerful resource of opinions

Over the years, I've developed a habit whenever I need opinions on anything, I fire a Google search with a query like "reddit what is the best ...". Chances are there are at least a couple of threads discussing exactly the same topic, or even better that there is a subreddit community made for the very topic specifically.

What is the best tool for xxx? Product A vs product B? Is xxx reliable? Review of some random shits? You might be amused sometimes how deep people over there can go on a simple question, and most of the response feels real and quality. I often find myself spending too much time on a single thread that is full with thoughtful discussion and can't help to stop reading all of it.

This is everything I need Steem to be since the announcement of Hivemind development but I guess we won't see the release anytime soon.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/can-we-see-the-day-when-steem-is-the-new-reddit/

Sort:  

It's possible! I love that we get paid and it's rational we could overtake Reddit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Just waiting on free and instant account creation, that's honestly what I feel is holding the platform back. And yes, it's a technical issue... One that should have been baked into the system since launch. One problem personally is lack of good multi accounts also... A person wants 3 things typically inline, a professional profile, a personal profile, and an anonymous profile (because we don't want to speak our mind and be embarrassed in front of our friends, a testing ground for our thoughts is done well online and anonymous). Steem(it) doesn't fulfil this role very well for multiple identites.... It's doable, but uncomfortable as an end user.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45