As a gun owner, why I support Trump's Bump Stock Ban

in #blog7 years ago

Everyone who knows me knows I'm a big fan of guns and have been a gun owner for 22 years. A lot of gun folks are losing their minds over Trump suggesting “banning all devices that turn legal weapons into machineguns.” I'm not one of them. I was for the bump stock ban when it first was floated and I continue to be. A bump stock is a device designed to make you lose an element of control over the weapon's trigger system in order to simulate fully automatic fire. It operates by using recoil to "bump" the rifle's mass into your trigger finger after you pull the trigger and fire one shot such that you make one trigger pull and the subsequent recoil of the rifle fires multiple rounds until you release your finger from the trigger pull position (which is why they're called bump stocks). This is in effect recoil actuated fully automatic fire with a singular pull of the trigger and legally should fit the definition of a fully automatic firearm. If you want full auto, you can get it. Follow the law.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57459.91
ETH 2436.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38