What is the Deal with these UPVOTES???steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

powerpose.jpg

REAL TALK TIME

Ok, so I know that I am new to Steemit and may be missing something! But my issue is with people who will make these generic comments on a post or say how much they are looking forward to more then......... NOT upvote it??? I mean isn't that the way to show that you like it??? Every time that I read a new post and I like the content, I make sure that I upvote it so that the person at least gets the reward for taking the time to create it!

It kinda of just seems like they either didn't bother to read it and/or they are just trying to get the curation rewards on my post without even bothering to upvote it! While anyone can appreciate a good comment ..... if the only reason that it was written was to help yourself...... KEEP IT !!!! I don't want nor need FAKE comments or FAKE followers for that matter!! I already have literally thousands of those on other social media platforms! Sure the number looks great on paper, but I would rather wait and build my following slowly with people that can truly appreciate my expertise and what I bring to the table.

Let's be clear! I have been a Certified Master Trainer and in the fitness industry for over 13 years. I have fought my way back from 230 lbs after having 3 children (all by c-section) down to my current weight of 155 lbs using training programs I designed myself! I don't need validation from anyone about what I am doing or my content. But when I see the random posts with nothing more than a generic meme or yet another soul-less selfie getting 100+ upvotes, I have to call Bullshit!!! That doesn't make any sense to me at all!! Furthermore ....How is this any different from IG or FB??! I guess that is to be somewhat expected since the same people on those platforms are now on this one but ......REALLY??

This is not going to stop me from helping people learn how to create a fitness lifestyle because its my passion and I love what I do! I will, however, be paying more attention to where my upvotes come from so I can support those that support me. I am not here for a popularity contest, and I don't mind building my tribe slowly. So if you are not here to support me and/or others that genuinely want to produce quality content on this platform.... KICK ROCKS and save your "Random/Generic" comments for the teeny boppers!! I am NOT interested!!! Thanks!!

Sort:  

There are a lot of "bots" that post around and try to game the system by getting return votes on their auto-comments. There are also a lot of newer users who don't know the etiquette that seems to come normally for others, like you.

You have the end goal in mind of success via drive here, and that's what most people don't have. It takes time to acquire true followers who proactively engage, one at a time. Even with 750+ followers myself, barely any show themselves on my blogs. It doesn't make much sense, but I guess it's a numbers game.

The best advice I can give is to not expect too much from your blogging until you have more followers. Don't let view counts or upvotes discourage you during the ramp up process. You have a good niche and are genuine about it, so as Steemit grows, you'll be ahead of the game in a few months. With followers, comes the results you deserve, but aren't getting right now because not enough people see your posts in their feeds. The best way to get followers is to comment well in the niches you want to attract followers from, and they'll start to build up that way, plus get you some good upvotes in the process.

Thank so much for the advice!! After reading other posts from people I follow, I know that it is not just me! LOL I thought I was missing something but as you say....It just takes time!! I have already met some great people here, like yourself, so I gotta just put my blinders on, ignore the B.S., and continue to do my thing my way!!! Rome was not built in a day but a cheap picture of it only takes a few minutes to print!! I like to consider myself an original...Never a copy so I am in it for the long haul! Thanks for taking the time to read my post and comment!!

Hey, Happy to hear that I am not alone in noticing stingy upvotes and I'm with you, If I like the content then it deserves to be upvoted. Thanks for sharing your health, I look forward to following along with your posts :)

Thanks! I really appreciate the support! I like your blog as well! Keep up the great work! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46