3/21/18

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Today was glo-ho-hoooorious.

Elliptic Machine(Cardio): 48 minutes at level 5/30 difficulty, up until the last 4 minutes, which I did at 6/30. Wound up burning 504 calories by the end. Maintained RPM in the high 80's for the most part, but every 10 minutes, I dedicated 4 minutes to kicking the Elliptical's ass. Going apeshit on my own juices and kicking it up to as low as 95 RPM, as high as 104, never falling below until the 4:30 bursts were done. The reason I wound up going over 45 minutes was because I wanted an even, 4th burst of this. So, just for added spice, I also kicked it up to level 6 when I felt another surge of adrenaline crackling through me. Finished having never fallen below 85 RPM, with an average of 91 RPM. ACCEPTABLE. >:D

Bench Press (60 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks. I was still crazed on natural steroidjuice, I powered right through this like I was only doing the bar.

Pec Fly(60 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks. I slowed down just after the halfway mark, but the usual signs of strain with this exercise stayed minimal.

Abdominal Fuse (60 lbs): 50 reps, no breaks. I couldn't make myself go nice and slow for this one. I flew right through all the reps.

Leg Extension(60 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks. Right as my knees started to pop, I finished the 35th rep. Done, done, onto the next one.

Seated Leg Curl(60 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks. Literally one or two slams. The legs had just begun to heat up by the time I finished.

Leg Press (60 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks. There was absolutely no loss of octane in the set. I was done in just over a minute.

Chest Press(60 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks. The strain on my respiratory from this one has gotten to the point where I barely note it. Powered through like all my days on truck when I worked for McDonald's.

Shoulder Press(60 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks.

Lower Back Fuse(60 lbs): 50 reps, no breaks. I tried to continue to hone my form on this one, as I've noticed that simply leaving my arms hanging at my sides as I do this one cheats my back of some of the gain. I learned/tested this the hard way the last time I went. My back had a few would-be bitch-fits the next day at work, but it's part of the process of getting used to things I wager.

Seated Row(60 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks. I needed to shrug my shoulders a couple times by rep 30, but the next 5 reps were smooth and easy.

Bicep Curl(20 lbs): 35 reps, no breaks. My arms kept wanting to give out on me for this one. Probably because today was my quickest lap through the gym ever. So while I was doing my reps I had a bit of an internalized gripe-fest with myself about how I was being a puny girly man. Naturally, Myself was insistent on being a mealy mouthed whiner, so I told Myself that I was simply NOT HATING MY FATIGUE ENOUGH! >:D
Myself was a bit skeptical, but I assured Myself that if I hated it enough, it would go the hell away and I could finish my set in peace. And then, the final 16 reps happened with ease, and a few bulging veins in my temples.
Props to this being one of the rare chats with me myself and I where me stayed right out of things.

Tricep Extension(25 lbs): 35 reps. 18 emphasizing the left arm, 17 emphasizing the right arm, no breaks. Surprisingly easy. There was still a weaker period with the final 6-ish for either arm's main emphasis, where I couldn't quite lift it up as high as I was...but my arms didn't feel as limp under the weight as they were, and I felt completely fine once I had sat the weight down. No jelly-arms for this penguin thank you. Wak.

Fingertip Pushups: 5 reps. I didn't wanna do this one, especially since I had bicep curls and tricep extensions to go. So I then internally bitched myself out again for FOCUSING TOO MUCH ON WHINING AND NOT ENOUGH ON GETTING PISSED AND GETTING SHIT DONE. >:D And then when I got down on all fours, the five came smoothly, although with a decent deal of effort.

Bike(Cardio): 45 minutes. E-Z-P-Z. I stayed in the 118-123 RPM range until level 10, where it began to look like a repeat of last time...only then I felt the great powah of PENGUIN RAGE flooding my bones, filling me with strength anew, where I had the motivation and the spare to start throwing my shoulders, core, and neck into helping kick up a higher pace. I only fell below 111 RPM for brief stints while I looked for the next song to play, where I promptly started spazzing out and turbo-flapping my way back up to my standard. Juuuust like in High School....
At level 13, I kept falling to 88 and 79 RPM...but never lower. And as of 43:38, I maintained a constant pace aid with the rest of my body to kick things back up to 105 RPM where I stayed. I ended at an average of 113 RPM, having burned 402 calories.

That! Is! How! It's! DONE. >:D

For tonight's track of choice, I turn to a group that one of my troll bruvas on Zuccbook showed me. Sebastian Boudreau, if you're ever reading this, you did an epic job in showing me Powerwolf. This song of theirs is called "Amen and Attack". The instrumentals are everything I look for in terms of something to emotionally and mentally latch onto, the lyrics resonate with me personally, and the video I found this song put with is a tribute to my favorite canon Space Marine Legion in Warhammer 40K. Ever. Dorn's Angry Boys, The Black Templars.
Composed and put on Youtube by the user Nerzha. Show their channel some love sometime, ah?

40K Lovers, Metalheads, and Fitness Nuts the interwebs over rejoice, and enjoy.

Sort:  

The part I really liked was when you were talking about how "me" didn't interrupt "myself", & "I" during your personal battle. Good for you! Mine always interrupts. LOLOLOL

Me is a bit of an attention-whore like that. I'm as surprised as all others.

Congratulations @fitnesspenguin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45