Bitter buddha, Jim Carey & A Word Sandwich

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I Need To Eat My Words

I wrote a Steemit post yesterday that I regret today. You can read it here if you like: Writing Songs I Can't Believe Or This Album's Killing Me.

I regret it because I opened the window of my life too wide. Sure, all the fun stuff in my music life, the heroic struggles (after their done), the successes and retroactive wisdom on past failures, is easy to write about. In those writings, I get to be the nice guy, the hero of my own story. Yet, bitterness, anger, jealousy, and self-pity; these topics are also a part of my life. In the closet of all my successes are these skeletons of my emotional day to day life.

I like to write. But I've never consistently written a blog about my 'music life,' because it gets too messy, and gets messy often. I can do a music tech post, a songwriting post or other benign topic every once in awhile.

Though I am emersed in every aspect of the music business, and I do get wrapped up in the latest gear, techniques etc.. What my life is, and has been about, is nothing to do with gear, marketing – even songwriting is more a shadow puppet featured on the path of my real mission.

The Struggle Is Part of the Reward

It's about doing what I love every day. More historically accurate: it is about the heroic struggle to do what I love every day.
To be successful? Ya, sure, that's the plan. But that's such a small part of what the broad picture is, or what the journey has been.

Success in this context, I'm defining as a mainly monetary success, notoriety etc, all the things the 'world,' sees as 'success'.

I have my own idea of success though. I've learned that the world's definition of success – it comes and goes. For me, it came very early, in my teens. It has come in other times in my life also, only to flee again. It seems more like a pit stop than a destination.

Life happens in many 24 hours

When all is said and done; my life IS, and has been, about only the struggle, more specifically, the 24-hour struggle NOT to give up what I love to do; not to allow the pressures of life, family, romance, aging, finances and so on, steal from my days what I love to do.

A quote that has been said in different ways by many, is summed up by Daymond John well: "Success Is Waking Up Every Day And Doing What You Want To Do."

It has always been about the 'struggle,' even in the successful times. Maybe even more so in success – Mo' money mo' problems.

I wrote the Album Is Killing Me post because it was killing me that night! It has emotionally bankrupted me. It feels like it has financially ruined me, but as I explained in the post, I always feel like that after a big project. I can't see over the horizon and it looks dark and scary from the place that I am at. A place where I have invested a year and every dime into a 'work.'

A Real Life Experiment

I wrote the post, even though I knew I'd regret it. I'd regret some of what I said. I don't even believe in some of what I said, but I did in the frenzy of the moment. Bitterness was seeping in, as it does. Self Pity was making a flank attack, as it does. In my better days I fight it off, I remain positive and move on to the next right thing, almost like a horse with blinders on.

I have so much chaos in my life, it's become normal. You become used to it. You have to just relax, calm down, take a deep breath and try to see how you can make things work rather than complain about how they're wrong. - Tom Welling

On my worst days, it completely cripples me. Self-pity, bitterness, and resentment open the floodgates of fear, insecurity, and the most damaging of them all, Jealousy. That is, Jealousy of those who are successful, who look put together, who have not sacrificed the comforts of air-conditioning for a damn music 'career'. Even worse, in an age where no one buys music..haha.


Me in one of those 'music is madding!' ...rants

Funny Thing Happen On The Way To A Blog

So I'm writing this post, to tell you what happened after I wrote my other Self-Pity post. Which was really strange, and left me once again with the understanding that nothing is by accident.

I wrote yesterdays post, and I was really having a bitter day. A fearful day. I don't know what it is about my personality, but though I am mostly a very open person, I love people; when I get afraid; I clamp up. I go into a mode of 'I don't need anyone for anything!" Odd thing is, I I do that in the times that I most need people. It must be some of the immaturity that has lingered on in my mid-life.

I left for an event after writing that post. I didn't want to go. I've been avoiding 'events,' for months. And becoming more and more isolated, self-pitying and fearful about the future. In a real funk.

I finally decided I had missed so many events, It would be best to at least show my face for a few minutes. The post in question, that I wrote yesterday, talked about my hatred of networking, which might have been, still more, veiled fears, bitterness. I wrote a reply to someone also, that said more about my hatred of networking (which I deleted haha).

As if it was preordained, when I reached the event, an art friend started introducing me, with glowing reviews, to others. Even though I was in a bad mood, didn't want to talk to anyone... I somehow left with several important contacts and people excited to work with me on promoting my new project.

Idol Hands, Insecurities Workshop

What happens is, when I go into big projects where I have to hide out for a time... insecurities start creeping into the cracks of my isolation. I let my guard down.


{NSFW Pepitone Heckles Himself)

Also, I've gone out on a big limb on this album. A huge one for me. I start getting worried that I won't be able to prove it 'worthy'. 'Worthy,' of what, or who? ... I don't even know.

Alrighty Then!

When I got home, I watched the new Jim Cary Documentary on Netflix.

In it he said something, and it landed in the right place. He said, he realized you could fail at what you DON'T Love, so why not rather try at what you do love.. at least you failed at something meaningful. (That is a paraphrase from memory). He was talking about his dad, a great musician, who gave up and did what he thought was the 'right,' thing, and went into a career that he didn't love. He talked about the bitterness that set in, the bitterness I know all too well. Not from only myself, but that is also my dad's story.


image Jim Cary

This hit me so hard. Though he phrased it better, it is, in fact, the exact realization I had 5 years ago when I left a very good secure career as a designer to return to my music career. Maybe I had a good income, maybe I had good insurance and cars etc.. but It had failed. I had run it every way possible and I hated that life.

To Fail At What You Don't Love

My hope was failing, my joy, even my desire to live had failed. I was failing hard at something I didn't even love. So I left with the same thought, well, "how much worse could it be?" If I can't even bare the thought of living in this life I've created, leave it. Go and do what I love... who cares if I fail. If I'm poor. I'd rather fail while chasing what I love. So I left and never looked back. I wake up each day and do what I want to do.. which is my meaning of success. My income was cut by 80%, we barely make it but in a strange paradox, overall, these five years have made the previous 39 worth it. I've had more joy in a few years of life, being 'poor,' and without creature comforts, than I ever imagined was even possible beforehand. The more 'stuff,' I shed, the more I became happy and free, full of energy and vitality.

What happened yesterday was, I saw the reality of how much I had riding on this project. I started hearing all the warnings that were told to me when I left my career.. 'Your insane! How will you pay for insurance", "your going to lose everything", "Your foolish", "You'll lose your house, your wife, your family!" I started looking at the perceived reality and again started believing them over just a short period of isolation.

Serendipities are private business

The serendipities of last night, were the personal kind, that maybe are only proof to me. The fact that I wrote an unplanned blog and said some mean things about networking and other people. Then, compelled to go to an event (when I have no-showed 100), Then contacts were magically handed to me, the exact ones I need right now. Then Jim Carey's words, and him stating the reason I'm still doing this crazy dream, This dream of my idea of 'success'.

'Every disability conceals a vocation if only we can find it, which will 'turn the necessity to glorious gain.' - C.S. Lewis

At the end of the night, it was too odd, too much like someone up there was listening in and wanted to say to me... hey kid, it's okay. Keep going. I got ya...


In a final twist, I was called in to spend the day making the final tweaks and master of my new album. I sat there all day in the studio and at one point, it hit me. Forgive me while I go into the third person: Ezra, you are sitting here on Monday once again taking a recording farther than you thought possible. You are with the people you love to be around, musicians, people who love music. You've done this for 5 years straight.. and there is a roasted chicken in the fridge, gas in the car, and a wife that still loves you at home.. your okay. There is no destination to get to! You're at the destination. Enjoy it. And, chill the F%&k out dude.


Last day in the studio


Thanks for reading. Folow me @ezravan and if you want word on the new album release you can always sign up on my home page at ezravancil.com.

Image 1 mouth words
image 2
image 3

Sort:  

I love reading your blogs because they're real. They remind me that being authentic is not just ok, it's much more inspiring than presenting a perfect false face.

I tend toward moodiness, and it often keeps me from writing. I worry that I'll say something I regret. But reading this, I see that's not a bad thing. Bad days, negativity, cranky moods -- they're part of being a real human being. To leave those things out leaves out all that can be learned from them.

Thank you for sharing yourself so openly here. We need more of that in the world.

Hi @Rebelmeow

Thanks for writing that! I get it, I do .. I do!
I have this constant issue. I go to war with my moods. Sometimes that's with me saying: 'oh ya! you gonna be cranky today and mess up my creative plans.. well I'll put your craky sad butt on display. How 'bout that!" Me talking to myself again. I do it a lot. :)
I just found at one point that I didn't need 'everyone' to like me, and that when I was myself, that some people got it. The ones that didn't.. they would never get me anyway, why do I want them reading me haha.

Again, you write an amazing blog. As already mentioned, the universe heard you with you previous post and gave something to you, maybe telling you that you made the right choices. I'm not a personal believer in the universe giving things, but I do believe in changing your own destiny by speaking up and out, by writing (or speaking) your frustrations; That clears up the mind and resets the mind in a more positive mode. When being positive, it is easier to pick up the tasks you have to do, like the showing up at this event. When being positive, this comes across to other people, even when not talking, but it is shown in your face, your body language. When people see positivity, they will return (most of the time) positivity. I know when I start a new project, I start talking very enthusiastically about it and generally I get all sort fo good advises back, or even contacts for prospect customers or suppliers or whatever useful. It already starts in your group of friends, but it also happens with complete strangers when talking with them in eg a bar, or just on the street. I don't think you should be sorry about your earlier posts, it was what you felt that moment whether you agree with it or not. It may have helped you to get through to moment, and got yourself to the event and now you have some prospect gigs coming out of it. Super to read this happened with you.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ezravancil to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @ezravancil! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post man. this blog post resonates with me particularly well right now, as I have been thinking about the same thing recently regarding doing what you love compared to doing what is expected. I too watched that new Jim Carey doc and it was pretty eye opening. It's funny how things really line up every once in a while.

Thanks man.. I think writing the post and expressing what I've been feeling of late has helped a lot. To do what you love is never the easy choice, that's for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49