Exkwizard Blog Entry #2 We all need to SAVE WATER!

in #blog6 years ago

16939430_1279785158725067_7170492974771876402_n.png
Hi Steemians!

So it has been a while since I have posted and even longer since a personal blog entry even though I like to post daily and blog at least once a week....Let's hope I can increase the frequency but for now this is all I have.

It's a new week and I am starting my new job on Thursday :D Even though I generally don't like working for people as an employee (slave!) this job is right up my alley and I feel like I will be able to contribute more to the water crisis in Cape Town by taking up this job.

aqu ascrn sht.png

I will be heading up sales at a company in Cape Town called Aqua Trip who specialize in smart water meters to help reduce water usage and detect leaks, and with the water situation being so bad here my guess is that I will be VERY BUSY this year. I'm not afraid of hard work, i actually enjoy it (although I know the benefits to smart work) hard work has always made given me a sense of purpose in some way, so yes I am VERY EXCITED about this actually and I also believe in the product with all my heart.

Since the crisis reached a critical point last year I found myself needing to be involved in this situation one way or another, I am a problem solver and this a pretty big problem. Who knows how I can actually make a difference but either way I will be putting myself in the thick of it this year.

dam levels.png

As you can see above our Dam levels are at an overall 26% with 10 - 15% of that being undrinkable water so we aren't looking at a massive time frame here before the dreaded DAY 0 and our city is not the only one with a water problem...Not even the only one with the problem in South Africa, Global warming is very real and we are facing the consequences of our pasts wasteful and neglectful attitude. Sorry for being the debbie downer here but let's not kid ourselves we as humans have fucked up and it's time for us to fix our mistakes.

Of course this whole water crisis could have been avoided with a bit of foresight, and in fact our City was warned and even had a private company offer to build a desalination plant at their own expense all the city would need to do is provide the land...This was in 2005!

This leads us to second point of topic which is corruption in the South African government and the municipalities...Billions of rands have been spent on projects that were only supposed to sum up to a about 100 million Rand, and all the money we should be using to fund our crisis situation is now GONE into the accounts of a bunch of scum bag cronies and probably taken illegally offshore so that SA will never benefit from any of that wealth again.

Believe me i can go on for days about the state of our nation as they like to call it but I really don't see the point. as Sad as it is, all i can do for now is get involved with the water situation directly and hope to make some kind of meaningful contribution eventually. My ultimate hope is that DAY 0 never has to come for any city on this planet.

save-water.jpg

Save water guy's wherever you are on the planet, it is a beautiful resource.

Cheers

Sort:  

Actually , Most Politicians should give up showering? , they start to smell bad as soon as they talk , regardless of their hygiene ,or lack of it!

Agreed. They are quick to tell us all to stop showering while talking their kak 😂 All our water is sitting in the pool at Nkandla.

Very important! Remember it is a fire pool! ( Only to be used if the other water catches fire!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67