Where Have all my Steemit Friends Gone?

in #blog5 years ago


people-4050698_640.jpg

I have been absent from Steemit for eleven months... almost a year. I am definitely clueless as to how this platform has evolved or changed. Even when I was very much active from when I first started up to last year and then I spent my time away from Steemit and Discord, I still had not learnt much about this whole blockchain. I would only come here and post so I could share something that I have knowledge of, or share about my interests, my work and daily activities (sort of like a journal or diary for me), or catch up with people I've met here, but other than that, I really did not care about how everything worked. I have never understood the "blockchain language".

There have been lots of things that happened in the last few months, and I want to share it here. However, it bothers me to know that most people may think that they don't care about some personal details of my life, especially I was surprised to find out that some people I used to exchange messages with have moved on (or moved to a different platform), they're no longer active here... so who am I to tell things to?

I am also very reserved to jump in someone else's post and post a comment just so to make myself visible to other people, even when I want to connect with someone so that at least, I'm just not here to exist. I want to co-exist. But I feel like everyone is speaking a whole different language and I can't understand their English... they're too technical! I wish I did not step away from Steemit (I totally regret that) because now I am kind of lost in translation.

I feel so overwhelmed by the changes made on Steemit, like there are communities now I can subscribe to, etc. But, I'm just wondering, where have all my friends and acquaintances gone? I've browsed some of the posts, and some said goodbye to Steemit but they moved to HIVE. What is HIVE anyway?

One thing I do like about the change though is that I am able to browse all my posts from two years back. I'm glad about that. I thought I lost them forever.

Anyway, enough babbling or rambling. Please forgive my nonsense. Until next time.

Image from Pixabay
Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hey you. It's been a while!

Yes a LOT had happened in just a couple of months. Steemit Inc was sold to Justin Sun of Tron in February. He wanted to do some things that the community didn't want, so they stopped him from using the Steemit stake to take control of the Steem blockchain, by freezing those accounts temporarily. A questionable move, but just as questionable was Justin's move to take control anyway, by getting some exchanges to power up customer Steem and voting in 20 temporary witnesses.

Long story short, the original community witnesses forked the chain off with an exact copy near the end of March and it is called Hive (at least currently, but that's another story). You have an account ready and waiting for you there if you wish to use it: https://hive.blog/@evlachsblog

Many communities have packed up and gone there. Some people have stayed on Steem and some are using both. Most of my friends have gone there, but some are still here, so I'm trying to juggle the two.

I hope you are well.

Oh wow, thank you for replying.

Steemit Inc was sold to Justin Sun of Tron in February.

So ned has gone? Where is he now? What did Justin want to do that people didn't want?

How come I have already an account on Hive? Do I use the same passwords or keys that I use here? Can I post the same exact thing there what I post on here?

Anyway, how are you? How's semi-lockdown treating you so far? Hope you're well, too.

Glad to receive a message from you.

I see you figured these questions out anyway! Lol

I keep forgetting to check in on Steem, sorry.

That's all right. All good. Yeah, I tried my posting key and it worked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59