What I Have Kept Previously, Now It Is Time I Give Back at World Book Day!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I had a conversation with my eldest daughter about going to KLPAC. "Trisya, since you like reading books so much, why not we head on to KLPAC because there will be a celebration of World Book Day 2018. Guess what, you can get involved by giving away your pre-loved novel book which is still in good condition for a donation!"

She answered "Yes" with a smile and continued with a reply, "I have 2 novels that are still in good shape for donations". She goes straight to her room without turning. I guess she wants to get her book ready.

20180422_upstair1.jpg

The Celebration of World Book Day - is awesome!

For those who do not know, the celebration of World Book Day 2018 (WBD) is unlike the International Book Fair / Exhibition which we usually see at any popular spot like in a convention center or a shopping mall in the heart of the city.

This so-called celebration of book and reading is actually designated by UNESCO. It is also a BIG event for celebrating authors and illustrators too!

Quick History Fact about KLPAC

When I came to see the WBD celebration with my family its already noon but the crowd still filled up the area. I never know about KLPAC before. From my quick readings.. a bit history of KLPAC in a brief as below.

In 2003, flash floods inundated KL and destroyed The Actors Studio’s underground complex entirely. It was out of this tragedy that The Kuala Lumpur Performing Arts Centre (KLPAC) was born. The arts community needed a new home and history was made yet again. The Actors Studio, YTL Corporation and Yayasan Budi Penyayang joined hands to establish the country’s first fully-integrated arts center. The Kuala Lumpur Performing Arts Centre (KLPAC), a non-profit organization, opened its doors in May 2005.

the source

The Excitement Begin!

music source "Royalty Free Music from Bensound":

I started to feel excited whenever I see so many colorful banners hanging around and the place is huge, full with greenery view with old trees and lake, also there is a huge building where all of art and performance activities taking place by art communities. Ample parking space and restaurants also available for visitors too! I knew about this event from the Malaysian Homeschool tribe which I have joined their workshop recently with my spectrum girl. The 2 days workshops which were held at PKKTB is about learning some monster movement - "The Wild Rumpus" performance which held its performance during WBD! (I will post about this workshop in my next article).

What is more interesting on the event day is where visitors are served with various beneficial activities and workshops which inspired by books and led by authors and games too! Among the activities, which I manage to share it here with you from my own photo gallery - listening to a story-teller from the real author, treasure hunt (which I couldn't make it because its already full-house), the secret garden corner, colorful costumes wear by kids and adults (for costume parade) also not forgotten, the book donation (which is the main reason why I came) which goes to 3 beneficiaries - Kiwanis Club KL, Myanmar Education Centre and Geutanyoe Foundation.

20180422_book1.jpg
20180422_book3.jpg

my daughter pre-loved novel books which must go for donation

This very first celebration of WBD at KLPAC with my family is something that will be remembered in memory. Its really a FUN day indeed, I hope that we will meet this wonderful event again next year and this time around we will be going to participate!

Pssst! If you have come across with the similar World Book Day celebration before, feel free to share your experiences here too!

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I had been to KLPAC once, that was when my friend, a visual artist, had her first solo exhibition at the venue. One of her collectors was Jimmy Choo. I was there the day Jimmy came to have a private viewing.

You should do the same too! Exhibit your drawings there!

Not up to that level YET LOL

What a lovely event! Books are so important! I actually have a very hard time parting with books because I feel I could pass them on to my kids or someday grandkids, but there have been times I've given them away happily knowing they would be read and loved by others. I'm especially happy that my kids love books as much as I do.

This is the first I have heard of WBD and it looks very interesting! I think that was great of your daughter for donating her novels. I like how they have activities and games for you to do while there. I really love the concept of this event. Thanks you for sharing and making us aware ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29