Why are letters in the keyboard arranged the way they are?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)


Source

This is really random, but I'm a very curious human being. You simply can't take away the curiosity from me. Therefore, I'm doing this for my own sanity. HAHA. So while typing something down, I can't get the question out of my head. 

Why QWERTY?

There may be 2 reasons (one is a theory that is apparently debunked). At least, that's what I got from the articles I read [1, 2, 3].

To slow typists down

Why would manufacturers want typists to slow down? Remember typewriters? Yeah, those machines that make really irritating noise when you type something down. The faster the typist gets, the more probable the typewriter jams or gets mechanical errors. Thus, a response -- split up keys of common letters. 

We have Christopher Sholes and James Densmore to thank for that.

     

Source

To make it easier for telegraph operators to transcribe messages

Looks like Japanese researchers from Kyoto University were just as curious. Haha. In a paper published in 2011, they found out that the way keyboards are now is the result of how the very first keyboards were used.

QWERTY may have been developed from the advice of telegraph operators who needed to transcribe really quickly. These transcribers were among the first beta-testers of the first typewriters, so it's safe to say that they are a key to the evolution of the keyboard. 

KALQ

I didn't know that there was a KALQ keyboard for smartphones (I think I'm just not interested). But there is, and it's apparently developed to type with just our thumbs.


In the end, curiosity satisfied. :) Thank you, world wide web.

Sort:  

Good article. I heard it was to slow typists down, but why do you think they haven't changed it back? Followed!

Coz the majority has adapted and they already have soft touch keyboards that wont make a computer/mobile jam when typing speedily?
Just a thought. 😉

Interesting theory, I think what's most likely is that we are just used to it.

Now that's a question that will bug me to no end. Again. Haha. Apparently, many revisions to the keyboard have been made but we keep going back to QWERTY. :) So I have to agree that yeah, it's just the way we're used to.

wow that is really great work keep posting stuff like that :)
I have followed and upvoted you do the same thing for me to help each other.
thanks :)

Thank you! :) And thanks, too for follow and upvote. I have just followed you back. :)

Well my mind is twisting... thanks for the google to explain to me easily ahahahahah

You're welcome! HAHA.

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88