Celebrating Mother's 60th | A story

in #blog6 years ago

Steemit, without a doubt, made it possible. That is, Mother's 60th birthday celebration. How the heck had Steemit come into play?

Girls, boys, ladies, and gentlemen. Like many others throwing in their thanks to this platform, this is what this post is all about


My parents, cousin and her kids, and myself. We celebrated Mother's birthday at Vikings Luxury Buffet Restaurant, Mall of Asia. 


I always got to celebrate my birthday. In this picture, can you guess who I was?

A throwback [Thursday]

I was spoiled rotten as a kid. I guess my big sister @arrliinn knows a lot more details regarding this, but I do remember instances.

Every time I celebrated my birthday, my parents always had something prepared for me. A birthday party (most of the time, as a little kid) to simple luncheon or dinner, my mother would busy herself with preparation.

I was really sickly when I was young; apparently, I would always be admitted in the hospital at one to two months intervals, and my birthdays became some sort of a miracle - with me surviving each year, regardless of my health, my parents found something worthy to celebrate.

Tatay's 60th

Thanks to Steemit, I managed to save enough money to be able to celebrate my father's birthday. Of course, my big sis chipped in (uh, with the cake), but without Steemit, I doubt we could have pulled it off any better.

My sister documented some of the celebration in one of her posts, and I couldn't be any prouder. I'm glad it went well.

My father reportedly said, "I'd never celebrated my birthday with a cake before."


I unfortunately wasn't able to make it to Tatay's 60th birthday celebration, but I'm happy he enjoyed his day. Image Source

I had. Many times. When I was a kid, it was not a birthday celebration without a cake. In college, my friends would surprise me with a heart-shaped chocolate cake each year, that it wasn't even surprising to me any longer.

To hear that come from Tatay was more than just sad.

Nanay's 60th

Weeks before, I had been contemplating about dining out with my parents on my mother's 60th birthday. Less hassle, less tiring, and it was going to be an unlimited buffet treat.


My parents with my cousin's baby.

When I told Mother, she was ecstatic. She was excited. 


Happy 60th birthday, Nanay!

And I was happy.

To be able to finally give back after not being able to literally my whole life, felt refreshing. I liked seeing my parents having nothing to worry and stress about, and smiling because the food was great, different, and unlimited (which was by far the winning deal on my father's part). It was intimate and worth it, and it was  fun catching up with my cousin who was present today with her own family.

My parents got to try riding an Uber, which they had been seriously curious about. They got to taste different sorts of food, and enjoyed them at the same time.

They got to celebrate, and have nothing else to worry about.

The blessings

I always say this - Steemit holds a lot of promise, and it delivers. 

While I have an awesome-paying job and still be blessed to work in my own chosen field, I can't say my earnings are ever enough to cover so much. Steemit, on the other hand, comes to the rescue, and with the continuous support of the community, here I am, thanking you.

Thank you, guys.

I'd achieved so much because of you, and what better way to start 2018 but by making my parents experience something they haven't before experienced - which was definitely my lifetime goal. 

To more achievements, cheers, fellow Steemians! 

Sort:  

Congratulations on the Birthday! You're lucky you still have them in your life. Treasure more than gold ^_^

I admire you for loving your parents that much! :) loving them and taking care of them are the best ways on how we can repay them for everything they have done for us. :) they're so lucky for having a daughter like you. :)

A pretty daughter too! 😂 Yah charot from humble to hambog real quick. Thank you so much, @annefernandez! 💕 This is still too little compared to all they've done, though. 😊

Such a sweet story! :) happy birthday to your mom and I'm sure you'll be able to celebrate many more occasions with her in fabulous ways <3

Happy Birthday Nanay @lerma 💕 Many healthy and wealthy yearsssss to you and Tatay 😍 God bless always 😘

Thank you ate Ayah @pingcess! 💕

Happy birthday To her

You are highly welcome 👍👍👍
And where is my own birthday food

Happy birthday to your mum @erangvee
Wish someday in the future I am able to support myself with earnings from Steemit too

Thank you so much, @jiashin! You can do it! 👍💕

PS: Pasko pa rin sa Vikings. :D

Kwits na kayo ni atee... last time xa ang wala sa bday ni tatay 😊😊

Grabe uun noh?! Dalawa na lang kaming anak di pa kami maka-perfect attendance.

Sad life.

Hahaha... sa golden anniv nilang dalwa siguro naman andun na kayo parehas 😂😂 mahaba habang planuhan pa... pwede na i-diarize 😂😂

Happy birthday kay tita (yas. ang fc)!

Salamat, Ms Debiii! 💕

This was heartwarming, @erangvee! :)

As a new steemiter, to more achievements indeed - cheers!

Ooooh! OMG, welcome to Steemit, @stochasticmind! I hope you have an enjoyable and fruitful Steemit experience. 💕 Keep steeming~

Also, thank you!!

More blessings will come for you this year as I could see you have a good heart. You'll reach your goal and take you parents places. Belated happy birthday to your mom 😊

That means a lot, @watersnake101! Thank you. 💕 Praying for more blessings this year on your end, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69768.04
ETH 3884.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73