You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 04/16/18> One last thing before we move on…. AGUA.

in #blog6 years ago

That is such a nice gesture, and it really helps visualize the situation for such folks that previously was just in my imagination. As you might guess, I am not for such strict immigration policy and actually to me it's a little bizarre given that we have such a large dependence on them. I think there are plenty of people for doing things the right way in terms of establishing some sort of legal status so they aren't all bucketed into the illegal immigration framework and having families ruined by overly broad policy. But... I'm not too familiar with all the details so this is really all just guesswork on my end.

Sort:  

I have mixed emotions on this subject but there has to be real serious issues where these people are coming from that would cause them to risk their lives to come here with nothing and knowing that they would be subject to deportation.
It is a nice gesture on the part of whom ever is doing it. While I was in the valley I discussed seeing these barrels with a friend of mine and he told me that he saw a report on television of a similar situation over in Arizona but the US Border Patrol agents were filmed opening and pouring out the bottles of water. That sparked an out cry from the people in southern Arizona according to my friend.

Many years ago some of the local councils went to similar lengths to prevent squatting. If done right, squatting was legal in England. The council would send crews to the empty properties to smash the toilets and water pipes. Some of these houses were scheduled for demolition - a year or more down the line.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I think that squatting is actually legal here in Texas, but it isn't done very often, I read about a case up in the Dallas area last year on a house in a Dallas suburb where a guy was squatting to gain control of the house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64