You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trust issues

in #blog6 years ago

I just blame all my years of playing Eve Online! While I do still think there are places in this world where people don’t lock their doors/have no locks or close their windows at night. The majority do not because most people can be trusted but because it only takes one person who sneaks around at night looking for unlocked windows to open and to steal. Granted in my area you would have a good chance of getting shot for such a thing so it’s at their own risking of doing so. Which has happened in this town and people still don’t learn.

I do think there is a different between a healthy dose of not trusting people at first and the people that go around purposely trying to look for reasons not to trust someone by setting them up for failure. That then becomes a bit of a sabotage relation between the two parties involved.

Last night in the discord I’m in one member post a steam key free to the first person who used it. All he asked was that you let him know you where the one that got it. After a while someone said they tried it but it was already taken. No one came forward in saying they got the game. While it was only a 99 cent game the fact that no one was willing to just say "thanks for the free game I got it” is kind of sad. Makes me a little less trusting. That is just the world we live in. It also means if someone wants to do that again in the future I'll have to ask them to just DM the key to the first person who ask for it and not just drop it into chat.

Sort:  

Now see, if that Steam key were actually a token of ownership on a public ledger, you could have seen exactly which account claimed it. No trust necessary.

people that go around purposely trying to look for reasons not to trust someone by setting them up for failure

Yeah I don't do that either. I already have a reason not to trust anyone; it's just a bad idea to begin with! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44