Chess Puzzle of the Day (Dec 3, 2019) | Problema de ajedrez del día (3-Dic-2019)

in #blog5 years ago

♔♞♙ Chess Puzzle of the Day


puzzle position | posicion del problema

*** White to play and checkmate ***


Believe it or not at first, this is also an "basic endgame". Tournament or competitive chess players know that the checkmate of Bishop and Knight must be learned because it is elementary! (also), although not very often. In my games, I have had it a couple of times and in one of them, I was the defender. My defensive resource was to enter this endgame, speculating that my opponent wouldn't know it, and so I was successful! I saved the half point because my opponent didn't know how to execute the mate. Too bad for him.

So, if you want to avoid the embarrassment of not being able to finish off this advantage in a tournament or you don't want to doubt too much when you're short of time, then practice this mate long enough until it's natural to do it. In the position above there is, at this very moment, checkmate in eight moves, and you can get it by following a well known pattern. Do it!

Do you want to exercise your tactical skills a little? Then solve this chess puzzle. Indicate the correct move and a full continuation. If you want, you can point out the tactical motives and other patterns present.

I also want to invite you to participate in the weekly #SteemChess tournament, promoted by @schamangerbert and held every Saturday through lichess.org. If you play chess online, join in! Free registration.

More information about this series of posts.


♔♞♙ Problema de ajedrez del día


puzzle position | posicion del problema

*** Juegan blancas y dan mate ***


Aunque no lo creas al principio, éste es también un "final elemental". Los jugadores de torneo o de ajedrez competivo saben que deben aprenderse el jaque mate de alfil y caballo puesto que ¡es elemental! (también), aunque no muy frecuente. En mis partidas, lo he tenido un par de veces y en una de ellas, yo fui el defensor. Mi recurso defensivo fue entrar en este final, especulando con que mi rival no lo conocería, y pues, ¡tuve éxito! Salvé el medio punto gracias a que mi rival no sabía como ejecutar el mate. Qué mal por él.

Así que, si quieres evitar la vergüenza de no poder rematar esta ventaja en un torneo o no quieres dudar demasiado cuando estés corto de tiempo, pues practica este mate lo suficiente hasta que sea natural realizarlo. En la posición de arriba hay, en este mismo momento, jaque mate en ocho jugadas, y puedes conseguirlo siguiendo un bien conocido patrón. ¡Hazlo!

¿Quieres ejercitar un poco tus habilidades tácticas? Entonces, ¡resuelve este problema de ajedrez! Señala la jugada correcta y una completa continuación. Si lo deseas, puedes señalar los motivos tácticos y demás patrones presentes.

También quiero invitarte a participar en el torneo semanal de #SteemChess, promovido por @schamangerbert y celebrado todos los sábados a través de lichess.org. Si juegas ajedrez en línea, ¡anímate a participar! Inscripción gratuita.

Más información sobre esta series de posts.

Sort:  

Congratulations on winning the saturdays #steemchess turnament https://steemit.com/steem/@schamangerbert/steem-bullet-chess-tournament-december-07-the-winner-is-eniolw-video-commentary-by-schamangerbert

Kg5 Kg3
Ne5 Kf2
Kg4 Ke1
...

I'm not finished, however I first heard of this particular endgame and interested in more about it. With my approach I hope to escape with black. 2bc

Congratulations on winning the saturdays #steemchess turnamen

Thank you very much!

I'm not finished, however I first heard of this particular endgame and interested in more about it. With my approach I hope to escape with black.

I see. It's kind of hard to explain it with only text! I recommend you watching some youtube videos and then practising it against the computer!

Great! Now I see the difference! yt is full of Bishop Knight Checkmate videos. I'v watched one yesterday. So let's see. Kg5 has been redundant, because there's already a wall when the Knight goes out of the Bishof's way.

Ne3 Kh4
Be2 ...

Ne3 Kh2
Kg4 Kg1
... well. I solved it, however I don't want to state I did it perfectly. Yet I had an idea on what I was doing at needed something like 22 moves.

Now my question is: There is no way for black if white watches out for stalemate, right?

And: How is the rules for a draw? It depends on the framework you're playing in, right? I heard of 50 moves, I heard of 3 similar moves. Where's some guidelines on this to find orientation and not pick a rule out of thin air?

Thanks for your puzzles, @eniolw. I'm enjoying it here and there a lot to be away from automatic online chess.

Oh, I would have insereted an !invest_vote without edit. Well, next time.

I'm glad my study and suggestion were helpful for you :)

Now my question is: There is no way for black if white watches out for stalemate, right?

No, the position is a win no matter what. Of course, there is still a chance for a player will spoil the win and force a stalemate, but in principle, there is no hope for the defender if a correct technique to win is performed.

And: How is the rules for a draw? It depends on the framework you're playing in, right? I heard of 50 moves, I heard of 3 similar moves. Where's some guidelines on this to find orientation and not pick a rule out of thin air?

Once you've got this material relation on the board: K + B + N vs K, you're forced to win up to the move 50 or earlier, because as there are no pawns and any other capture simply leads to a draw due to insufficient material, you're asked to prove the win in certain reasonable number of moves (50). In other positions, if you move a pawn or capture a piece, that resets the counter for the 50-moves-rule.

The other rule is the threefold repetition. You can't have the exact same position on the board three times, because that implies you've not made any progress and then it's a draw.

These rules always apply in chess regardless of the time control. Online chess websites watch out to comply with these rules. Maybe you could skip one of them in your informal games, but in general, you can't ignore them. You can find more information in the Laws of Chess by the FIDE.

Thanks for your puzzles, @eniolw. I'm enjoying it here and there a lot to be away from automatic online chess.

Nice, thanks!

That's compelling. Thanks for sharing your insights and experience! !invest_vote



Hey @anli, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Oh nice, !invest_vote did it's best even though I edited the comment for inserting it. Well, I'm coming back again as I just discovered lichess has an interactive lesson on this porticular chess problem. :-) https://lichess.org/practice/checkmates/knight--bishop-mate/

Great! That one is good to practise, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81