You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #26 : When Things Became Scarce...

in #blog7 years ago

We live in the desert ... in the mountains of New Mexico (USA.) Water issues are constant here. I learned in our chronic and worsening droughts to make use of water in ways city-folk might find amusing.

Water that I cook vegetables in either goes into making soup or becomes water for the pets. (All those wonderful vitamins do some good instead of being poured down the drain.) Bath water becomes water for flushing the toilet or watering the trees.

Rinse water from the washing machine becomes the starting water for the next load. It's just soapy water anyway. (Yes, it means I have to collect the water in jugs. And yes, it's inconvenient. And yes, we've "adjusted" our washing machine so it doesn't just go through the cycle automatically. It waits for us to put it into its next phase.) Water from the laundry is also channeled out to water the trees.

In the times when it does rain, I collect rainwater from the gutter downspouts in buckets and use it on the trees several days later. (Yes, I have dozens of buckets, and, yes, I get wet.)

The shower doesn't just "run" while we're in it. We get wet, soap up, put shampoo in our hair. turn off the water ... then we rinse off. Turn off the water again. Repeat. It means showers aren't nearly as pleasant -- or as long. (They used to be a fun kind of self-care, but they're not any more.)

It becomes a function not a luxury -- and I miss the pleasures of it, honestly. My husband and I also shower together to conserve the water you waste when you wait for it to "warm up." Showering together actually does create less waste than showering separately.

It adds to the hassle of life ... but not as much as having to wait hours for the well to refill. And certainly not as much as being without water at all. But you do learn to appreciate "the necessities of life." I enjoyed your article. Welcome to my world!!

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

Wow @enchantedspirit. You just offered me a glimpse to your world. I can't believe how inconvenient it must have been for you since you have to be so mindful of your own water consumption to avoid wastage. Than you for sharing. It makes me more appreciative of what I have now and I totally have nothing else to complain since I get my source of water directly from the water taps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30