life is almost good - It Takes A Village

in #blog6 years ago

We have a crew.

The D fam has all the tools, ladders, and life advice anybody could ever possibly need. The E and B fams have us covered on the alcohol and entertainment front. The A fam are the go-getters. They keep us hanging out on the regular and keep us fully stocked with Summer Shandy and some bomb chili. Our fam keeps everyone well fed and has the kid basement.

If the E fam needs something, at least one of us is on it in a second. If our family is halfway across town and our garage door got left open by accident, or a package is left on our porch while we are out of town, the D fam has us covered.

Our crew makes life so wonderful. I think it is absolutely vital to our society that we have these crews.

Humans gotta look out for each other.

Listen to me.

We’ve got to look out for each other.

When school started this year, it was the first year for our kids to walk home on their own. MA was the only one of us home at release time and she made sure the other crew kids made it into the house and that the door got shut and locked before she took off. You know what? I never even asked her to. I didn’t even know she was doing it until my son mentioned it weeks later. I was so blown away.

But it takes a village, you guys, and that’s ok.

If my kid is out of line and I’m not around, I want you to take care of it. If my kid feels more comfortable talking to Mr. L about something because he’s been a great rolemodel to him for many years, I can trust that he’s getting the best of the best advice.

These kids need to know they aren’t alone. They also need to know that they will be held accountable for their words and actions.

Adults need both of those things too.

Each family has something unique to bring to the table. Something different to teach me our kids. A different value and life lesson, whether good or bad. My crew is helping to grow me my children into who they will become. I value everything they bring to the table.

I know there are countless other crews like ours. Hold onto them. Cherish them. Do something silly, or something thoughtful for them in the next few days. Show them that despite your different walks of life, your goals are largely the same; eat good food, make good memories, have a few beers and laugh until your sides ache.

Do you have a crew? What will you do to show someone in your life that you are grateful for them?

Dedicated to my crew.

– L –

Sort:  

Woow, that's a great write up. From where I come, bringing up a child used to be the responsibility of the entire community. Unfortunately, things have changed now, every looks after their own and their own alone.

Exactly! We are lucky enough to live in a fantastic neighborhood and community. I don't think we'll ever leave!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73