Just because you can, doesn't mean you should...

in #blog6 years ago

I am fairly new at the "greening awakening.' I have become more and more aware of not being wasteful. I have come to realize that just because I am able to use more disposable items and replace them, doesn't mean I should do so. A couple of years ago, it would never have occurred to me to reuse plastic bags, paper towels, foil wrappers, plastic bottles etc.. They were easy enough to replace so why bother. Thanks to the media and even to efforts right here on our campus by students and staff (not to mention our greening accomplishments in our construction projects), my consciousness has been raised and I think a lot about not being wasteful.

I'm at an early stage in this, I admit, but lately I have a greater respect for our natural resources and sustainability. When I am mindful of lowering the heat or turning off the lights, I do so not to save money as much as to save valuable resources. I used to buy bottled water by the case and gallon and dispose of all that plastic (even doing so in the recycling bin seemed wasteful). No more-- now I have a water filter at home and use tap water to refill heavy, reusable bottles each day. I give away clothing and other items that may be of use to others. I use one paper towel instead of two, and reuse it in ways that are sanitary. Walking instead of driving when it is reasonable. Little changes such as these make me feel better about my contribution to our world and all of its precious resources that we take so much for granted. I realize that some of these resources may simply disappear someday unless we are all mindful today.

So, I try to remember that "just because I can (waste), doesn't mean I should."

Sort:  

Congratulations @elissa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85