Lisbon in 4 days (part 3)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hello steamians

The third day we visited Castelo, Graça and Alfama. We started with the sé cathedral. I was very curious to see this cathedral after the stories I had heard about the earthquakes etc. that it had survived. The result of this is that you can observe 5 different styles. Originally it was a Romanesque and Gothic cathedral. Later on through renovations, other styles were also mixed in such as baroque, neo-gothic and rococo. The thing that made this Cathedral the most special for me was the option to go to the second floor.That is something I always wanted to do because you have a completely different view of a cathedral but never got the chance and believe me I have visited many churches / cathedrals. Of course , you don’t only go upstairs for the view but also to visit the treasury. It is made up of four halls with suits with gold, jewels and relics from various periods. Unfortunately, we weren’t allowed to take pictures.
P9070310.JPG
P9070252.JPG
P9070262.JPG

Next stop was the São Jorge Castle. It gives you a 360 degrees view of Lisbon. When you visit it keep in mind that it takes at least an hour to see everything. We did it in an hour and a half because I always want to see literally everything and we also drank something in the castle. Further I can tell you that the castle is divided in 2 sections: the Moorish Castle and the Royal Palace but very little remains of the palace after the 1755 earthquake.
Then, when you leave the castle there is small café right in front of the exit where you can buy a Pastéis de Nata. It’s Portugal’s most famous and emblematic sweet! I can only say one thing, just try it and maybe buy one extra because they are just delicious!!
P9070285.JPG
P9070289.JPG
P9070284.JPG

After eating thePastéis and half of my boyfriend's patéis. (I just really liked it) we went to Praça do Comércio. During that walk we went through the small streets and in hindsight you might better take the big road because in one of those narrow streets we met a man who also came from nowhere, so first of all we startled and then it became weird when he called my boyfriend like psss you want to buy some drugs ... We could laugh with it but if you want to avoid that just take the big road with all the tourists.
At Praça do Comércio you have one sight with all the restaurants and on the other side you find the cafes. The restaurant in the middle, I don’t remember its name, is amazing!! I would say make sure to eat there because it is cheap, something you don’t expect in such big squares.

P9090451.JPG
P9070304.JPG

Thanks again for reading! you can always check part 1 and 2 on my account ;)
See you tomorrow for part 4 !

Sort:  

nice post, it would be nice to verify your account by posting steemit link to insta profil :)

You have a link to my Instagram if you click on my profile

Yes, but in order to verify account you should also put steemit link on instagram (:

Oh I didn't know that! Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16