Koumponophobia; What the heck is it?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)


photo credits

Let me introduce you to another rare condition here. The fear of buttons. It is said than only 1 in 75.000 people are known to experience it. And guess what... Im one of them -not a lone freak to this either!

To be accurate enough, Im not afraid of buttons, I just hate them. Im a bit -and a bit more- disgusted by them. Yes, I never wear clothes with buttons and I don't touch them, being fully aware that they won't hurt me -Im not crazy people I just don't like them. Im totally fine with the metal jeans buttons though.

It all started when I was about 6 months old when my mum accidentally scratched me with one of her dress's buttons on the forehead -of course I can't recall anything about it. Since then I refused any type of buttoned clothing on me. The only time I attended a parade for the 28th of October, I marched with a white turtleneck (like Papandreou (!)). Also, if I have to iron a polo t-shirt I try my best to accomplish this difficult task by not touching any of the little nasty buttons (EW).

Another fellow-koumponophobic you all know, was Steve Jobs. His phobia actually shaped the evolutionary era of touch screens. When I read that, I felt proud and quite a loser for not being able to do anything with it and just nag about Zara's obsession with buttons in clothes that don't even need them to be there.

I don't plan to overcome my "phobia" or more accurately my quirkiness about buttons. For 31 years I've learnt to deal with it and I kinda like it as well!

Sort:  

Congratulations @eliakon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm phobic about spiders, so I understand how irrational these phobic fears can be. If a creepy crawly beetle runs into my room, I don't like it but I'll just remove it. But if a spider runs in, I freak out and have to get someone else to move it for me. No idea why.

I don't like spiders either :P I always call someone else to get them out as well... They' re kinda creepy.. :/ Thank you for reading my post :)

We accept you as you are! (especially since we now know that you are in the same league as Steve Jobs!)

Hahah of course! :P Thank youuu :)

δεν φοραγα σχεδον ποτε με κουμπια ρουχα... Ελα που ηρθε η στιγμη να κανω πρακτικη και να φοραω πουκαμισακια συνεχεια :p
ελα που ηρθε η στιγμη κ βγηκαν οι καπες και τα παλτα ( κ μου αρεσουν τα παλτα) οποτε το θεωρω σε αυτες τις περιπτωσεις αναγκαιο κακο :p

Δικός μας κι εσύ?? χαχα Εγώ ΠΟΤΕ! Ακόμα και στην Ολυμπιακή που δούλεψα ένα φεγγάρι με turtlenecks πήγαινα ή με απλά μπλουζάκια. Τα παλτό κι εμένα μαρέσουν αλλά έχω βρει χωρίς κουμπιά όπως και σακάκια χωρίς κουμπιά :P μια τρέλα να τα βρεις, αλλά ευτυχώς για τις γυναίκες είναι κάπως πιο εύκολα τα πράγματα!

παλι ρατσισμος στους αντρες :p δεν εμαι δικος σας, εγω εχω τεραστιο θεμα βαρεμαρας οποτε καταλαβαινεις με τοσα κουμπια που οδηγει ολο αυτο :p

χαχαχ ναι καταλαβαίνω.. Δυσβάσταχτο να τα κουμπώσεις όλα αυτά :P και αηδιαστικό επίσης για μερικούς μερικούς...

και αλλο τοσο να τα ξεκουμπωσεις, αυτο ειναι το πιο βαρετο για μενα, σκεψου να γυρνας σπιτι απο δουλεια,καφε,φαι κ αντι με τν μια να βγαλεις τν μπλουζιτσα σου να πρεπει να ξεκουμπωσεις 5-6 κουμπια

δεν ξερω ποιοι μερικοι μερικοι ειναι αυτοι :P

Εγώ και ο Steve (RIP). Α βαριέσαι αρκετά, όχι αστεία :P Αν ήσουν γυναίκα θα είχες και να ξεβαφτείς οπότε να λες πάλι καλά :P

και για να δεις ποσο συμπασκω με εσας, προτιμω, επικροτω και μ αρεσει ( και επριζα λιγο ολες τις σχεσεις μου :p) να μην φορανε make up

Κανένας άντρας δεν μας θέλει βαμμένες too much είναι η αλήθεια :P

You are so funny! I loved reading this, it brought a smile to my face. I collect antique buttons so will be sure to never invite you for tea.

Oh thank you so much! :) Really?? You collect buttons??? Haha Certainly a collection I wouldn't like to see :P

Don't worry, I would never think of scratching anyone with them.

Hahaha thats good :P

You should try to turn your phobia into a weapon -- I don't how, but this is certainly the right thing to do, Steve did exactly that! What fascinates me is the names of some phobias, and how they would appear to non-greek people. For example there is "treiskaidekaphobia" ("three-plus-ten-phobia")- the fear of number #13.

And, brace yourself, as I am gonna write the worst phobia ever; it is so bad that you can't even write it down, I have to copy/paste it:

Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia

- Fear of Long Words Phobia

Really?? "Treiskaidekaphpbia" do exist?? Im so cool after all with my cute koumponophobia :P they have some really strange names for the non-greek ones indeed!
As for the hippopotosth phobia I guess its a bit scary isn't it??!!

What is really scary is to have to pronounce it at a presentation!

Hahaha I don't even wanna think about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83