from Handmade to Robotics to AI (part3)

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

The Netherlands is know for its wooden shoe. The wooden shoe is entirely made of wood (obviously) from a single piece of wood. The shoe is worn mostly by farmers to protect their feet when farming. As long as these shoes are invented, they where made by hand. Maybe only a couple of decades ago, these shoes are (partially) made by machines.

Now 3D printing technology is available, production of new wooden shoes becomes 100% automatic, no hands required anymore.


A more elegant and designer wooden shoe you can see in photograph below.

Designers: Chris van den Elzen, Judith van Vliet

3D printing delivers already such great new product and designs. I'm looking forward to more to come next years and decades. What will AI add to wooden shoes?

Sort:  

Last time I had these wooden shoes was when I was a little girl ^^

Never to 'old' to try again :)

Aye, but now they just seem very uncomfortable ;-)

What about the other wooden shoes in the post? Maybe a bit more comfortable, although high heels may not be that comfortable; never tried it myself :)

Oh god, no. I'm not great at walking on high heels and those are way too high for me ;-)
I'd be worried about the health of my feet (and ankles), to be honest!

Hmm, maybe the designers can design some great modern wooden shoes without heels. When I find some, will let you know ;)

I found your post interesting simply for the knowledge that printing in wood is possible. Though I am surprised that the product has sufficient strength to be usable.
.



ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating BOINC computations for science.

wood printing is possible already for some years and developed initially for the so called home printer (FDM technology) market. wood filament (the 'ink' for the 3d printer) is a combination of plastics and wood, hence the strength.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87