Magna-Tiles In My Classroom! Promoting Creativity and Thinking Skills!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

Some of you may know that I am a Special Education Teacher for grades TK-1. Many of my students suffer from many different types of learning disabilities. It can be visual recognition skills, phonological awareness skills, etc.

One thing that my students do not struggle with is creativity. A favorite toy of my class is called Magna-Tiles. Anytime, that they are able to choose a toy to use. A majority of my students are clamoring over the Magna-Tiles. I only wish I had more of them to go around! If there is something they want to build and they are unsure of how to. They know various different ways to find tutorials and other help to reach their goals.


The Ball


The first one that my students and I created together, using a tutorial of course as I wanted them to figure it out on their own was a ball. This was a beginning favorite of theirs and it taught them quite a bit of patience as it would constantly fall apart while they were working on it. After a while, they started working in pairs to create this masterpiece because it was much more efficient. They figured this out on their own without any help from me. I'm super proud of them!

The Castle


IMG_20170223_111601.jpg

The second is a basic castle. They have created many houses and castles on their own. However, this is another one that my students decided to look up and follow directions in creating. It definitely is not there favorite. They do enjoy it as it is something that they learned!


The Dog


The dog. Oh, what can I saw about the dog? This is by far the current favorite of my class. Every one of my students is a huge animal lover! Dogs, cats, elephants, hamsters and snakes. They love them all! When the learned that they could build a dog using the Magna-tiles they all dove right in attempting to figure out how to make it on their own. Now that they know how. It gets built by at least three students a day. I'm sure they will lose interest in it soon enough and find a different animal to make. Although once the learn to build more animals I may have a magna-tile zoo in my classroom!


The Magna-tiles can be used for a lot of different things in class from teaching shapes and 3D-Shapes to teaching fine motor skills and critical thinking skills. My favorite though is to use them to promote teamwork and creativity!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58110.30
ETH 2687.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30