You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Homeless Pretenders.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Do they pay the professors? If they do then the money comes from somewhere. Do they pay their electric bills? Same thing.

Most likely the government.

Government's do not produce money, they take it from the citizens typically in some form of taxation. It is therefore NOT Free. It is just divided up across the citizenry and paid for with taxes.

If this is not the case I'll be curious to hear how they make it free.

EDIT: Taxes and FREE are not the same thing. I know of no way the government gives anything for "free" that isn't paid for with taxes.

Sort:  

ofc it's paid with taxes. We need to have more of our taxes go into education! Our universities look ugly. Filled with smart people, but they look like sh*t. Unless it's for the medical students.
Btw I think I realized why I dont see that many american exchange students. You need latin or old greek for many studies, like philosphy. I mean I still had none of both and sat in the same courses as full blown philosophers, but that is a story on its own.
Juristic you need Latin. Medicin you need Latin. I think you can try to learn into during your first semesters but thats rough. Oh and pharmaceutical vocabular it is not worth to break my no hard curses on Steemit over it but I almost did :D.

Anyways yes we pay for it and for wholistic reasons: you have to pay about 250€ for every state university, which are most, but you get a ticket for all public transports for the semester and other benefits. Some people stay student just because benefits outweight cost.

We need to have more of our taxes go into education!

We have massive funds going into education actually they've been increasing. Education is gone down. Unfortunately the amount of money spent is no guarantee of better results. Our results are actually worse due to the waste and where the money is spent. This is especially true of higher education. Guaranteed student loans have lead to prices of books, college, etc to skyrocket and leave people in debt in some cases for their life. It has also resulted in some sub-standard universities that are charging large fees to get that guaranteed paycheck.

mhh, I actually do not think that the current problem is state vs private school. I think learning, education and subsequently the way we will do our jobs will change. A change we should push for, but I think it is just a matter of time tbh.

There is also a controversal mechanic in place to avoid massive depts of students in Germany. The 10.000€ Bafög cap. Bafög is a loan given out to students and apprentices by the state. If your loan exceeds 10.000€ you will still only have to pay 10.000€ back. I am not a big fan of that rule, because you can profit from taking a loan, but regarding student debts it is a good mechanism to prevent a downwards spiral in debt.

The main problem, I see, is our society and how learning, teachers and education are perceived. And to be honest, I got no clue how to change that. Well other than giving pupils and students more freedom in their school life.

This is not true in the U.S. We've been increasingly spending more and getting less and less quality. The system knows it is guaranteed a paycheck, so they focus on making sure as with any budget that they get the maximum amount the guarantee permits. We also have tons of schools popping up to tap into this guaranteed money and offering very poor quality.

yeah, I have a big problem with how "state institutions" are managed in general, I would guess we agree on that. It needs to change. I'm just not convinced privatizing everything will solve that problem.
I think the very concept of having to squeeze me in a building with thousands of others is preposterous, when I could watch the lesson at home and get all the material sent to my PC. There should have been a major change in how we learn 10 years ago already.

To be fair, I once watched a really cool online Harvard class on computer scienes, it was like an introduction to basic programming, it was pretty well made, but I didnt finish it ^^*. Im a lazy fool

There are many fields that if you have the passion and self motivation to learn that I think is actually dumb to go to college for them.

Why? Because, as you indicated it is all out there easily available on the internet to learn. In fact you can learn it faster, and there is a good chance you might be more cutting edge than most college classes.

If you are not self motivated or lack the discipline to force yourself to do this then it can be a challenge. That is why it is so important to find some interest that you are passionate about and enjoy.

College courses that let you train on equipment you otherwise would not have access to or be able to afford are the types of courses I think it is still worth taking. Most other ones in this day and age and the level of access to information we have I believe are a waste.

I agree completely. We need some sort of "open exams", where people only need to prove they have the skill/knowledge to pass. The way you get this knowledge and skill is your very decision, you should be able to get help from training courses, seminars etc. but it should not be mandatory to take them.

I agree. I also don't like people being called "Scientists" if they don't follow the scientific method. Going to school and getting a degree that is based heavily on Scientific Principles but failing to follow the scientific method does not make someone a scientist.

Furthermore someone who rigorously follows the scientific method can be a "scientist" without having a degree.

I like the idea of being able to challenge exams. I had a negative experience with that in my youth. I challenged a course, got an A+ without having to take it, but they still charged me for it as though I took it, and it counted as 4 credits for that semester which limited how many classes I could take. So even though they didn't do a damn thing other than give me a test I had to pay for the full course, and they also wouldn't let me take other courses. So I couldn't actually get the degree faster. I could have challenged 75% of that degree in my youth (Computer Science), but I ceased trying to do that after that negative experience. I never did get that degree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42