ALBUM REVIEW // Attention Deficit by Wale

in #blog7 years ago

Attention Deficit is the debut studio album by DC rapper Wale. It was released on November 10, 2009 by Allido Records and Interscope Records. Now, this album right here is what got me on to Wale. It was one of those CDs that I randomly just picked up at the store to give a look. I didn't really that I would like it so damn much. The production is fantastic, Wale's style is pretty unique, I hadn't really seen anyone like him ever. He's a hard one to pin point when someone asks you "well, who does he sound like?", because Wale doesn't sound like anyone else. He just sounds like himself. And that's how you reel in your success. After listening to this album, I instantly became a fan. While I can honestly say most of his work hasn't really been as great as this album was, but I'm still definitely a fan. I keep a few of these songs from this album on repeat on my iPhone, no doubt. I give this album a 4/5! Give it a listen, shit's dope!

Track Listing:

1.Triumph

  1. Mama Told Me
  2. Mirrors (featuring Bun B)
  3. Pretty Girls (featuring Gucci Mane & Weensey from Backyard Band)
  4. World Tour (featuring Jazmine Sullivan)
  5. Let It Loose (featuring Pharrell Williams)
  6. 90210
  7. Shades (featuring Chrisette Michelle)
  8. Chillin' (featuring Lady Gaga)
  9. TV In The Radio (featuring K'naan)
  10. Contemplate
  11. Diary (featuring Marsha Ambrosius)
  12. Beautiful Bliss (featuring J. Cole & Melanie Fioan)
  13. Prescription

Songs That Stand Out:

#3 Mirrors
Featuring Bun B
Produced by Mark Ronson

#5 World Tour
Featuring Jazmine Sullivan
Produced by Cool & Dre

#7 90120
Produced by Mark Ronson & Dejion

#13 Beautiful Bliss
Featuring J. Cole & Melanie Fiona
Produced by DJ Green Lantern & Mark Ronson

Sort:  

This album is dope but Wale's my favourite rapper so I'm biased, my favourite song is probably Prescription but I love the album on a whole.

As far as his later projects not being as good as this I kinda agree, sometimes he doesn't do exactly what I want from him as a fan. I'd prefer if he did more conceptual or more introspective albums since he's such a great lyricist but I think projects like More About Nothing and the Album about Nothing were better projects than this in my opinion.

I didn't particularly like SHINE so we'll see how he does on his next one I think it will be amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64