You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: International Tourists: Try Showing Some Class! A RANT!

in #blog6 years ago

I didn't even get to compliment you on all these fabulous photos that I'm taking him with me so I can fawn over them for a little while.

Upped and steemed

Sort:  

Thanks so much Denise! I really appreciate it.

Love the photos. Not much has changed at the waterfront from when I visited a friend in 2000. I think tourists are pretty obnoxious wherever you go. One of my most embarrassing moments was o a trip to Costa Rica almost twenty years ago. My husband and I were staying at a very nice resort on the Pacific coast and had decided to eat at the Italian restaurant for a celebratory dinner. At a table for 16 on the other side of the restaurant was a group of very sunburnt and obnoxious drunk Torontonians being oblivious to everyone around them. They were dancing on the tables and throwing food around like animals. At that point, I was very embarrassed to be Canadian, since the waiter had just asked us if all Canadians acted that way...

Well yeah... people from Toronto are the worst. I'm from Toronto, so I should know! :)

Why should that be? I have met people from all over Canada, travelled from coast to coast when I was 18. Loved it. Toronto doesn't have the market cornered. Montreal is right up there with them. Tie for first place!

Toronto is certain that it is the centre of the universe - which is why it is universally hated by the rest of Canada. You only have to travel a hundred miles away to find people hate Toronto. They're all just jealous though because Toronto really is the centre of the universe! It's true, just ask anyone who lives there. Montreal.... don't make me laugh!

Toronto does have a culture which I miss here. Live theatre, symphonies, nightlife, dinner theatre, concerts and hockey games!

All kidding aside, Toronto is a wonderful city, one of the best large cities in the world to live in.. it's just way too big for me now. We're heading back there on a road trip in a couple of weeks to see the children. It's funny that a 4,400 km drive doesn't worry me, but I already dread driving in Toronto traffic. The 401 highway is now up to 18 lanes wide in some sections.... I just can't imagine driving on that thing again. This article claims it is now the busiest highway in the world: http://livetrucking.com/this-north-american-highway-was-named-the-busiest-road-in-the-world/

I like to visit as I have relatives who live there, but I could never live there. It is just too big and sprawling. I hate driving there because of the traffic so I get there by train or plane and bus, taxi and subway where I want to go.

The answer is to live right downtown in one of the areas like High Park or the Bloor West Village or the Beaches, and then take the subway everywhere. Bet it's still cheaper than Victoria or Vancouver.

You are one of my guilty pleasures, Keith! @keithboone

That's funny, Denise thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67