Inspiration to talk about crypto / weekends so slow on here / Foresight

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Yo yo yo, hope you are all enjoying your weekend!

I haven't posted anything about crypto lately. I really like the subject, I really like the possibilities. I thought about why it was, and I still don't know. Maybe I got sidetracked with all the happenings around here, maybe I was in a lull like the crypto market itself.

Well the crypto market has not really picked up but I read an article today about the gig economy and it focused on Uber and an MIT study that shows that Uber drivers make very little money. Apparently Uber has reached out to the people who made the study to address parts they may have missed. They claim the gig economy won't work and try to use the low wages of Uber as proof. The whole time I was thinking about how a blockchain based car-sharing decentralized application is a far superior business model. The article sites how as long as the price to consumers is low and the drivers are willing to do it, the wages of the drivers are driven lower. It also talked about how the price the driver makes can change depending on what the price of the competing services around, driving the drivers wages even lower. The main reason it states, is that the shareholders and the top employees of the company want to make as much as they can also, and that is at the expense of the driver. You can find the article I read here.


gigeconomy.jpg


So I am going to start a new little collection of articles about the places and ways that blockchains have the most potential to me. Examples are the gig economy, theft, voting, counterfeiting, and many others. The abilities for blockchain to remove middle men, remain verifiable, and to be accessible so easily. Gives blockchains the ability to disrupt so many places.


Winslow_Homer_-_Girl_in_the_Hammock.jpg


Another weekend. As always everything on here is slow. I need to take a lesson and take a break for the weekend as well. My voting power is extremely low and since it is slow here, its a good opportunity to catch back up. Maybe, I am bored. Maybe I like this place to much. Maybe I care about people and I want to spread some pennies around to people who are trying and being active. Probably a portion of all of those is the truth.



I lack foresight in many directions. Sometimes I luckily gain new foresight before it become's hindsight. I noticed that we are all here fighting over scraps on Steem. Once the blockchain and the technology is right. Once Ned starts delegating out some of the Steem Power to communities or new SMT communities that come like he has to Dmania, Zappl, and etc. this place will grow rapidly. The pebbles of SP we all have will pale in comparison to the votes that the Steemit delegation gives out. Once Steemit decides to move, they will move boulders.. and I think we will all be glad we stuck around.

Just a few thoughts for the weekend. I hope everyone stays safe, and happy. Take care.

Woot woot,

@drpuffnstuff my

PS: I also just watched a crazy video that was filmed recently of a fight between a bear and a tiger. Who would win? Shoot a guess and then watch the video here

Sort:  

Crypto is addictive 🤑

Another example showing how monetary rewards are detached from the actual service providers who generate income for a business.
Also, you could say "supply and demand" set the value.
SteemItInc delgated SP will benefit the members of communities. IMO benefiting SteemIt as a whole by distributing SP to a wider variety of content creators. Perhaps SteemIt could have a healthy middle class. A requirement for any successful society.

Are you guys kidding, steemit is still in beta phase and its making this much wave, i will be damned if by 2019 steem doesn't hit $500, goodstuff @drpuffnstuff thanks for sharing i would love to ask where are you from?

When some of the dozens of cryptocurrency schemes crash, there will be pain. However, the long-term impact on our economy of these experiments will be positive. The more troubles occur early, the more likely economic actors might climb steep cryptocurrency learning curves.

I think you're definitely right about Steemit moving boulders. Easy for everyone to forget it's technically still Steemit beta 0.1 :)

Still early days yet!

Hey Puff, I participated in the "gig economy" when work was slow a few years back. I drove for Lyft and some days I made pretty good money, others not so much. It was pretty random except fo holidays like the 4th of July.

I think the gig economy is good for people who need something to carry them over. It's there and you can do it instantly. I don't think it's a full time job or a career though.

I agree with you that an decentralized ride sharing service would be much better, but there are a lot of challenges with that. Criminals participating would be a huge problem. People with shitty cars, etc. I think those are a few of the reasons we have not seen a decentralized version yet. Someone will figure it out though.

I'm guessing the tiger. While bears are crazy, they are also pussies. Tigers are ferocious. I wouldn't bet on either though because the right bear on a good day would pounce all over a tiger. Cheers.

  1. probably the bear. 2.I got excited about the possibility of decentralizing voting, but then it hit me If you can make it a cryptocoin then voting has a price and that ultimately makes it inaccessible to some. 1 Steemians anonymous meets tomorrow at 3. where? on Discord, of course. :)
    38.gif
    @Lahvista

"The whole time I was thinking about how a blockchain based car-sharing decentralized application is a far superior business model. "

That is a perfect DAO application. If Uber doesn't pioneer that technology then they will get wiped out.

I think traditional economy will be removed by "economy of reputation", "trust economy". And blockchain will help.
Maybe it may be interesting https://medium.com/@Bowtiesarecool/reputation-as-a-currency-with-verify-blockchain-ea9d8708ef74

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77