You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I’m spending most of my voting power on rewarding people who comment on my posts

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Great information again @valth. Sometimes I get so impressed by you and some of the others here, the way you seem to knoweverything about this platform in detail. It's like you where a part of the developer team or something. As the dude said; the more I know - the more I realize how little I know...

I think I might upvote too much, simply because I find such a lot of interesting post and, as you, I try to upvote (almost) everyone who comments on my posts (not spammers). Also, I think many on this platform might be thinking too much about money. As I wrote somewhere else today, this is a great platform to share everything you love. Why not do so without worrying about money and what you're earning/worth.

But on the other hand... Is this a great platform, filled with positive people BECAUSE they have the potential to earn money? Are we faking the positivity? Hmm...

Sort:  

Thanks! It takes a long time to learn all the different functions here on Steem and Steemit, but my best tips for learning it is to just stay active and participate in discussions about the blockchain. Most people are more than willing to teach others about it, and after a while you will start to get the hang of it.

the more I know - the more I realize how little I know

That's completely true. I still have lots of things I don't understand about the Steem blockchain myself, and I think I ask about something new a few times every week. It's a good thing that we have some very skilled witnesses who know all the small details that us regular users have no clue about!

think many on this platform might be thinking too much about money

This is an interesting discussion to have, and there are certainly a lot of opinions. On one hand everyone here wants to get paid, and my opinion is that it's fair to get paid for producing content. Most content producers will need to make money one way or another, and it's better that they earn crypto than filling up a blog with ads (in my opinion). However, it's not always easy to figure out who is posting just for the money, and who is genuinely just wanting to share their knowledge. But does it even matter as long as the reader is entertained? Again, lots of very interesting questions to discuss!

Are we faking the positivity?

That's a good questions, and to some extent I believe we do. Just like we do in any society. It's just like when you meet an acquaintance you don't really care too much for and you still say "nice to see you again, let's catch up some time" or something like that. It's pretty much the same thing, but you get social capital in the real-life example, while we get economic capital here on Steemit. I still do think that we get a more extreme example here on Steemit.

Anyway, thanks for stopping by and commenting, @driftnerd! You asked some very interesting questions.

Thanks for a great answer @valth. Steemit is incredibly exciting. Hope it grows into something big and beautiful, with people helping each other to make the best platform possible.

Yeah, that makes two of us! Or more like 600,000 of of ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79