Solar Eclipse Party- Stewart Park, Ithaca NY 8/21/2017

in #blog7 years ago (edited)



Being in NY we weren't able to see the eclipse in full effect, however with the help of some glasses...and an interesting solar dome, we did get a simulation of it.





IMG_1313.JPG



IMG_1294.JPG



IMG_1295.JPG



IMG_1296.JPG



IMG_1298.JPG



IMG_1300.JPG




Inside the Dome
IMG_1301.JPG
I couldn't get it to show with the flash, and without it, it was too dark, but if you watch the video you can see it.



IMG_1304.JPG



Took a picture through the lense of the solar glasses. Unfortunately the ones where it looked like a quarter moon (also something you can see on the cardboard in the video) didn't come out.

IMG_1306.JPG



IMG_1307.JPG



The telescope in this picture had an attachment designed for eclipses, in fact you can find a similar telescope in the video posted by @stellabelle for the eclipse :) Because she's located in Missouri, there's the added bonus of seeing the sky get darker which is really cool.

IMG_1309.JPG



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Vote for our boy, the passionate and dedicated Terry @surpassinggoogle's @steemgigs witness for the betterment of Steemit!

Sort:  

It looks like an awesome laid back party. Your living the life!! Nice tune too!!!

It was definitely laid back, something to do with it being a Monday in the middle of the day I think, there are some parties going on in downtown Ithaca tonight that will probably be a little rowdier :)

I should have found out the name of the singer so I could give him credit. I'll have to do some digging. That was my daughter at the end there, in the tye-dyed shirt, giving me guff for video-ing her, lolz, unlike my boy in the brown shirt who did the "I'm cool look" for me :)

Hehe, a fine pair they are despite the guff giving from her! :O)

Yeah the daytime would have done it. I think with the music drifting over it made it even more so.

Quick, get yourself to a rowdy party ;O)

There really are nice parks around there, and always a lake nearby. I recognized your son in the video there.
We were on the edge of the eclipse shadow here, and my daughter and I watched the leave's shadows become crescents, and a distinct dimness when nearly the whole sun was covered except a sliver. The cool part was hanging around with my daughter though, for such a unique event.

Yes, definitely hanging out with the ones you love is always a cool part. That was my daughter in the end of the video, the one with the tye dyed shirt who looked at me like "Really? You have to video me mom??" lol

I could tell she was trying to casually not be in the video, I've seen this type of behavior before. ;)

Was a great party so you can appreciate dear friend / @ dreemit, how nice that you could have enjoyed this great event.
Thank you very much for sharing the video and the images.
I wish you a beautiful week

Yes it was a great party, thank you my lovely friend @jlufer, I wish you a beautiful week as well!

It sure is a lot more fun when there are more people around. I invited a few people from my neighbourhood to join me for an eclipse party in my driveway. I made a pin-hole camera to watch the image of the eclipse similar to what you saw in the make-shift tent. I also made some cardboard shields and inserted welding lenses into them for people to look through. I set up my camera to take some pictures and to watch from the electronic viewfinder. At first, my pictures were over-exposed, but after some experimenting, I was able to get some unique images. I explain it all on my own article that I posted this morning.

That sounds awesome, I'll definitely check it out when I get a chance :)

It seems like the Park is buzzing with people. Is the the same park that you were at where it seemed like it was completely deserted. If so it really does go to show how people can be drawn to nature to be stunned in awe and wonder

I live in which U.K. So I wasn't able to experience the eclipse but I watched a livestream and it looked absolutely incredible.

It is definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity and hopefully there will be another one sooner or later that I can witness for myself

Great Video and photographs @dreemit! :)

No, it's not the same park as the deserted one, but if there was a party for the solar eclipse at that one it would have brought the people out too, definitely awesome nature can draw people away from electronics for a bit.

I hope you can witness one too, and thank you @arckrai :)

Oh man I'm jealous! The eclipse wasn't seen here :( I'm a sucker for astronomical events, and eclipses are near the top of that list. It's awesome that you all have viewing parties for that. Here, I just take out my old x-rays and look at the sun as it gets eclipsed by the moon haha!

We didn't get the eclipse in Australia, so it's fun to read about it. Thanks for sharing :)

Enjoyed your piece. The video - where it shows the #eclipse at 2 sec. in & at 2 MIN 15 sec.. that's kind of cool.
But I bet the BEST PART for You is spending time w/ Yr #Friends + Family ! Am I right?

I wrote my brother about the ECLIPSE today - he works hard, so I told him to take a brief breather to examine the News pieces on TV !

Kudos .. Take care

Definitely the best part is spending time with the people I love :) 'Kind of cool' LOL.

Yes, it's good to take a breather and check out things going on in nature :)

This is really awesome, I love eclipse parties! Sorry to have missed the vote window :(

You went to Cornell right? I love Ithaca :) No worries, I'm just glad you got to see it :)

You have witnessed a great event in the human history. I am not as much lucky as you but I tried to watch it online on youtube.

According to google, the last time it went from coast to coast was ninety nine years ago, which is pretty cool.
We considered driving down to my step sons in the Carolinas, they have a really good view of it there.

Wow it must be a wonderful experience for you. While you were enjoying this eclipse I made some good designs and art, I will like to have a look at them with your naked eyes. They will not do any harm to your eyes like eclipse. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49