You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Artist's Survival in Steem City (fiction)

in #blog5 years ago

That was some beautiful writing! I felt as though I was on one of those...not sure what they're called, those chairs that glide along on a thick steel wire high above the city. I could even smell roasted peanuts and other sundry sidewalk foods.

Sort:  

Like a ski lift maybe? My old neighborhood (W 88th) typically smelled like pizza and flowers on one end, coffee and exhaust on the other, as I recall. Whenever I see fresh white lilies in arrangements around here, I have to stop for a sniff, to take me back to the City again. I'll be walking through the grocery store taking pictures of cakes and stuff, and suddenly it'll smell like the Upper West Side, and I know those lilies are nearby somewhere. Of all the smells, it's funny how I've taken that flower's scent as my ticket back to the City, I guess there were lots of florist shops along the Avenues up there where I walked most.

I've always been fascinated with smells being a gateway to places, time periods, memories. It's always a welcomed gift, and so fleeting. Sounds can do it too- strong, sturdy zippers always take me to camping trips of yore :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67