I survived the Lekki flood of 8th Jul 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Dramatic I know. That saturday morning I decided to brave what was at the time a light drizzle in my part of town -the Mainland- to head to the the Island and got to experience it in person.

I got stuck in traffic for over 30mins, then had to get down from the Uber I was in, and had to wade in knee high water, then walk a long distance, then get on a motorcycle (aka okada) to get to where I was going.

There are photos and videos of people swimming and even canoeing in the flood!
This flooding happens every year but has never been this bad.

Here's a photo I took from the top of the pedestrian bridge
Lekki flood 20170708.jpeg

This is the area where the flooding occurred
vi-ikoyi-lekki area.PNG
Ever since I got back to mine on Sunday, I've been sick with a fever and a running stomach.

Drawing posts and Captain Awkward comics will resume once I'm feeling better.

Sort:  

@dpencilpusher
Good content
Keep sharing good posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04